In this ward there are four councillor positions and only two of the 2017 councillors are standing again – the SNP’s Lesley Macinnes who has been the much talked about Transport Convener, and Lezley Marion Cameron a Labour politician who returned to politics in 2017after a gap of a few years.

Cllr Cameron won 27.5% of the vote, and while the SNP and Conservative groups’ share of the first preference votes decreased the Greens’ share increased.

  • Electorate 28,977
  • Votes cast 12,665
  • Turnout 43.7%


Lezley Marion Cameron Launch of 2022 Edinburgh Labour Manifesto at Coffee Saints with Cllr Cammy Day and Scottish Labour leader Anas Sarwar MSP PHOTO ©2022 The Edinburgh Reporter
Phil Doggart Conservative councillor for Liberton/Gilmerton PHOTO ©2022 The Edinburgh Reporter
Cllr Lesley Macinnes
Cllrs Lesley Macinnes and Martha Mattos Coelho

The 2022 results are:

NamePolitical PartyStage elected
Lezley Marion CameronLabour1
Philip DoggartConservative7
Lesley MacinnesSNP1
Martha Mattos CoelhoSNP10

The 2022 candidates were:

  • Labour and Co-operative Party – CAMERON, Lezley Marion
  • Scottish Family Party: Pro-Family, Pro-Marriage, Pro-Life – CHRISTIE, James Demare
  • Scottish Conservative and Unionist – DOGGART, Philip
  • Scottish Socialist Party – FOX, Colin
  • Scottish National Party (SNP) – MACINNES, Lesley
  • Scottish National Party (SNP) – MATTOS COELHO, Martha
  • Labour and Co-operative Party – MEASOM, Ishrat
  • Alba Party for independence – MERON, Abu
  • Scottish Green Party – NICHOL, John
  • Scottish Liberal Democrats – PLANCHE, Madeleine Rani Frances

2017 results

  • Lezley Marion Cameron – Scottish Labour Party – elected at stage one
  • Derek Howie – Scottish National Party (SNP) – elected at stage six
  • Lesley Macinnes – Scottish National Party (SNP) – elected at stage six
  • Stephanie Smith – Scottish Conservative and Unionist – elected at stage one

Electorate: 25,648
Votes cast: 11,995
Turnout: 46.8%

Loader Loading…
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab
Final position of the parties in Edinburgh at the 2022 election