There are six candidates here including the current Conservative Group leader, Iain Whyte who jumped ship from the Inverleith Ward.

This ward was represented by journalist and Conservative politician, John McLellan for the last five years, but he is now stepping away from politics.

Iain Whyte reflected on the poor showing for the Conservatives in these elections – their councillor numbers halved this time round – when we spoke to him after the final result. The Conservatives first preference votes reduced here by several percentage points.

Ian Campbell (SNP) who was elected in 2017 stepped down during the term for health reasons and the SNP’s Ethan Young was elected in his place.

There is no change to the political representation in this ward, but a newly elected councillor, Danny Aston, will take his seat at the City Chambers. Cllr Aston has worked with SNP MP Tommy Sheppard previously.

  • Electorate 23,924
  • Votes cast 10,568
  • Turnout 44.2%


The 2022 results are as follows:

NamePolitical PartyStage elected
Danny AstonSNP1
Joan GriffithsLabour1
Alex StaniforthGreen6
Iain WhyteConservative4

The 2022 candidates who stood in this ward:

  • Scottish National Party (SNP) – ASTON, Danny
  • Scottish National Party (SNP) – BROWN, Shelly-Ann
  • Scottish Liberal Democrats – FORD, Elaine Ruth
  • Labour and Co-operative Party – GRIFFITHS, Joan
  • Scottish Green Party – STANIFORTH, Alex
  • Scottish Conservative and Unionist – WHYTE, Iain

2017 results

  • Ian Campbell – Scottish National Party (SNP) – elected at stage one
  • Joan Griffiths – Labour and Co-operative Party – elected at stage six
  • John Mclellan – Scottish Conservative and Unionist –  elected at stage one
  • Alex Staniforth – Scottish Green Party –  elected at stage eight

Electorate: 22,793
Votes cast: 10,892
Turnout: 47.8%

Loader Loading…
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab
Final position of the parties in Edinburgh at the 2022 election

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.