Grant Holden of Edinburgh College of Art won the best animation prize at The Royal Television Society’s (RTS) Scotland.

The event celebrated the best audiovisual work created by students at undergraduate and postgraduate level in ten categories across animation, comedy and entertainment, drama, short form, factual, production design, editing, sound, camera, and new this year – writing.

James Wilson, chair, said: “The judges were greatly impressed by the high standard and ambition of this year’s submissions.”

All commended, nominated and winning films will be available along with the highlights on STV player:


WINNER – “Cleaning in Progress” – Grant Holden (Edinburgh College of Art)

“Radioactive” – Pamela Gray (Edinburgh College of Art)
“Short Changed” – Zoë Hutber (Edinburgh College of Art)

Comedy & Entertainment

WINNER – “Maroon by Rob Auton” – Kenneth Maguire, John Perivolaris, Katrina McDermott (Glasgow Clyde College)

“Shred” – Harvey Gardner, Arthur Johnson, Jack Jeffrey, Fraser Maclean (University of the West of Scotland)
“Transcendental Medication” – Arran Totten, Harry Mulvenna, Gemma Munro (Glasgow Clyde College)


WINNER – “What Separates Us From the Beast” – Edward Kondracki, Sedona May Tubbs, Kieran Howe, JP Pezet, John Dew, Robin Boreham (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)

“Last Confession” – Ryan Stewart, Stuart McAlinden, David Paterson, Lewis Macleod (City of Glasgow College)
“Incoming Tide” – Joanna Ellis, Robin Boreham, Gabriel de Bruin, Sophie Wilkinson, Adai Faigen, Gemma McAdam, Niall Scott-Martin (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)

Short Form

WINNER – “War Museum” – Xavier Weiss, Angelo Perdikou, JuEunhae Knox, Greig King, Vincent Jozajtis, Alex Hodgson, Stephen Packe (University of Glasgow)

War Museum_Short Form_University of Glasgow

“The Bo’ness Belle” – Rob Casey, Jordan Rigmand, Gemma Munro (Glasgow Clyde College) – Commended
“Jim Taylor: We Are Warriors” – Matthew Glen (City of Glasgow College)
“Metamorphosis” – Ruth Christman (City of Glasgow College)


WINNER – “The Bad Guy” – Cory Thomas, Laura Buchanan, Giulia Veronelli, Marco Di Gioia,Danny Flynn (University of Stirling)

The Bad Guy_Factual_University of Stirling

“Finding Your Feet” – Stephanie Van Eck, Elizabeth Clutterbuck, Max Muirhead, Alexandra Jowett, Douglas Matheson (University of Stirling)
“Tackling the Mind” – Jack Haggerty, Kieran McAllister, Chris Stuart, Eva Prikler, Adil Aslam (University of Stirling)


WINNER – “Incoming Tide” – Robin Boreham (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)

Incoming Tide_Writing_Royal Conservatoire of Scotland

Production Design

WINNER – “Threnody” – Paul Barrie (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)


WINNER – “The Last Sip” – Martin Waldie, Christy Kail (Glasgow Clyde College)

The Last Sip_Editing_Glasgow Clyde College


WINNER – “Coalescence” – Karo Pietilä (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)

Coalescence_Camera_Royal Conservatoire of Scotland


WINNER – “Coalescence” – Johnstone Macpherson-Stewart (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)