One for the history books now. Edinburgh Capitals vb Fife Flyers and the picture was by Ian Coyle

The Elite Ice Hockey League (EIHL) have confirmed there will be an 11-team league structure for the upcoming season.

Each team will face each other six times in the regular season, playing each other three times at home and three times away.

This follows the exit of Edinburgh Capitals and EIHL chairman Tony Smith said: “Having to meet to decide the way forward was not one we particularly relished after the circumstances involving Edinburgh.

“We have to move on. We examined the options available to us at great depth and the most logical one to take was to go with 11 teams.”

The structure for the Challenge Cup will be confirmed later and will be announced following the Elite League fixtures meeting in late June.