DjangoDjango2015BornUnder750

Edinburgh-formed, London-based band Django Django have announced details of their new album, Born Under Saturn, that will be released on 4th May. The band will also head out on an 11-date UK tour to support the album’s release.

The much-anticipated first single from Born Under Saturn, ‘First Light’, was released on January 12th.  It was announced that the four-piece would play London’s Field Day Festival in June, plus two sold-out February warm-up shows in Leeds and Edinburgh. A review of the Edinburgh show can be read here.

The album was recorded at Netil House in East London and Angelic Studios in Banbury with songwriting duties split four ways and production coming from drummer Dave Maclean.

When we were writing the lyrics there were lots of references to rebirth, turning a new page and starting something again,” says drummer and producer Dave Maclean. “I guess that’s something we all felt.”

The tour will begin at Aberdeen’s Lemon Tree on May 2 before a slot at Live at Glasgow on May 3. The band will also play BBC 6Music’s annual music festival on February 21, along with Brighton Great Escape Festival and End of the Road Festival. The band will also head towards Europe for some mainstream festivals.

Django Django’s first album came out in January 2012 to critical acclaim. Sadly you have missed the Edinburgh show but there are other opportunities further afield as you will see below.

Tour dates are as followed:
Sat 21st February – BBC 6Music Festival, Tyneside
Sat 2nd May – Lemon Tree, Aberdeen UK
Sun 3rd May – Live at Glasgow UK
Wed 13 May – Pyramids Centre, Portsmouth UK
Thu 14 May – The Plug, Sheffield UK
Fri 15 May  – The Great Escape @ The Corn Exchange (NME presents), Brighton UK
Mon 18 May – Waterfront / UAE, Norwich UK
Tue 19 May – KOKO, London UK
Thu 21 May – The 02 Academy, Bristol UK
Fri 22 May – Warwick Arts Centre Butterworth Hall, Warwick UK
Sat 23 May – Cathedral, Manchester UK
Sat 30th May – We Love Green, Paris FR
Sat 6 June – Field Day Festival, London UK
Sat 22nd August – Dockville Festival, Hamburg DK
Sun 23rd August – Lowlands Festival, Biddinghuizen DK
Fri 4th September – End of The Road Festival, Larmer Tree Gardens UK