Her Majesty The Queen has been pleased to approve the appointment of seven new Queen’s Counsel, on the recommendation of First Minister Alex Salmond.

The new appointees are: Andrew Lawson Brown, Robert Bruce Weir, Shona Jessica Alexandra Margaret Haldane, David Andrew Campbell Young, Roderick William Dunlop, and Indranil Julian Ghosh all of whom are members of the Faculty of Advocates; and Lindy Ann Patterson who is a Solicitor Advocate.

Those appointed were nominated by the Rt Hon Lord Hamilton, the Lord Justice General. With the agreement of Lord Hamilton, John Neilson QPM acted as an observer of the process and provided the First Minster with a separate report on his findings.

The rank of Queen’s Counsel is generally reserved for those who have distinguished themselves in practice in the Supreme Courts. Advocates and Solicitors with Rights of Audience in the Supreme Courts are eligible to apply to the Lord Justice General, Scotland’s senior judge. Before making recommendations, the Lord Justice General consults other judges, the Lord Advocate, the Dean of the Faculty of Advocates and the President of the Law Society of Scotland.