On Saturday 2 October 2021, Her Majesty The Queen will address the sixth session of The Scottish Parliament, joined by Their Royal Highnesses The Duke and Duchess of Rothesay.

The event, which will have BSL interpreting, will be broadcast live on SPTV and also livestreamed on Facebook.

The programme for Holyrood’s Opening Ceremony is as follows:

Her Majesty The Queen will address the Debating Chamber, accompanied by Their Royal Highnesses, The Duke and Duchess of Rothesay. 

The Royal Conservatoire Brass will perform Fanfare for the Opening of Parliament 2021 composed by John Wallace CBE and conducted by John Logan as The Queen enters the Chamber. 

The Scottish Parliament’s Mace, followed by the Officers of Arms, The Crown of Scotland borne by the Duke of Hamilton and Brandon, escorted by the Lord Lyon King of Arms and the Captain-General will process into the Chamber. 

The Rt Hon Alison Johnstone MSP, Presiding Officer of The Scottish Parliament. PHOTO Martin McAdam

The event, which will be broadcast live, will begin with opening remarks from the Presiding Officer, the Rt Hon Alison Johnstone MSP, followed by an address by Her Majesty The Queen.  

Music will then be performed from Orin Simpson on the flute and Seoras Chlad on the guitar from the National Centre of Excellence in Traditional Music. Followed by a song from Musicians in Exile, Always on the Move.  

The First Minister, Nicola Sturgeon MSP, will then address the Chamber.  

Following this Ae Fond Kiss by Robert Burns and Kirn Street by Michael Biggins will be performed by Michael Biggins, BBC Radio Scotland’s Young Traditional Musician of the Year 2021.  

The newly appointed Scots Makar, Kathleen Jamie, will perform a specially commissioned piece.  

The song, We Hold The Future will be performed by the National Youth Choir of Scotland.  

For the departure of The Queen, Farewell to the Creeks will be performed by The Scottish Parliament’s Piper, Stuart McMillan MSP, from the Members’ Garden.

Newly elected MSPs are welcomes to the Chamber of the Scottish Parliament for the first time by Parliament’s Clerk/Chief Executive David McGill on Thursday 14 May. Pic – Andrew Cowan/Scottish Parliament