The draw for the UEFA eEURO 2021 qualification groups was made last night and Scotland was drawn alongside Netherlands, Belarus, Czech Republic, Georgia and Greece in Group J.

This is the second edition of a national-team efootball competition featuring all 55 UEFA national associations and involves a qualification phase and a final tournament.

Gamers compete exclusively on KONAMI’s eFootball PES 2021 Season Update on Playstation 4. Italy won the inaugural competition.

A total of €100,000 in cash prizes will be split between all the finalists, including €40,000 for the winners.

Last year, in a tight group, Scotland were edged out of a top two place in qualification by eventual semi-finalists Romania and Portugal.

Both Frazer Young, 35 from Glasgow, and Reece Devlin, 29, originally from Edinburgh will represent Scotland once again.

Every country plays two matches each (1-vs-1) against the other nations in their group; points from both matches will be added to the group table. The ten group winners qualify directly for the final tournament scheduled to take place in London on 9 and 10 July. The ten runners-up take part in a play-off tournament on 10 and 17 May to determine the other six finalists.

When does it take place?

March/April 2021: Qualifying group stage

April/May 2021: Play-off tournament draw

May 2021: Play-off tournament

May/June 2021: UEFA eEURO 2021 group stage draw

9–10 July 2021: UEFA eEURO 2021 finals

Frazer: “It is a tough group for us. The Netherlands and Greece both had a 100% record in last year’s qualifiers so immediately they’re going to be the toughest opponents, the ones to beat.

“The Netherlands have pro players playing for Man Utd and Arsenal. It’s a big ask but we can build on last year’s experience try our hardest and look to cause an upset.”