All candidates for the European Elections were to be submitted to the relevant Electoral Registration Officer by today and the complete list of candidates for Scotland is shown below

Polling for this election will be held on Thursday 23 May 2019 with votes counted on Sunday 26 May 2019. Candidates must lodge a deposit of £5,000.

Certain Edinburgh schools will be closed on the day of the election.

There are candidates for all main political parties who will stand in the election unless the UK Government manages to get its withdrawal agreement passed by Parliament.

Conservative Baroness Mobarik, SNP MEPs Alyn Smith and Ian Hudghton, Labour’s David Martin and former UKIP member David Coburn are the current MEPs. David Coburn has already said he will not stand again.

Candidates are listed in order of preference, and the voting system used is one of proportional representation.

Change UK – The Independent Group

  1. David MacDonald
  2. Peter Griffiths
  3. Kate Forman
  4. Heather Astbury
  5. Colin McFadyen
  6. Cathy Edgeworth

Liberal Democrat candidates :

  1. Sheila Ritchie
  2. Fred Mackintosh
  3. Catriona Bhatia
  4. Vita Zaporozcenko
  5. John Edward
  6. Clive Sneddon

Scottish Conservative candidates :

  1. Baroness Nosheena Mobarik
  2. Iain McGill
  3. Shona Haslam
  4. Iain Whyte
  5. Andrea Gee
  6. Michael Kusznir

Scottish Green candidates

  1. Maggie Chapman
  2. Lorna Slater
  3. Gillian Mackay
  4. Chas Booth
  5. Mags Hall
  6. Allan Faulds

Scottish Labour candidates

  1. David Martin (He has been an MEP since 1984)
  2. Jayne Baxter
  3. Craig Miller
  4. Amy Lee Fraioli
  5. Callum O’Dwyer
  6. Angela Bretherton

SNP candidates

  1. Alyn Smith
  2. Christian Allard
  3. Aileen McLeod
  4. Margaret Ferrier
  5. Heather Anderson
  6. Alex Kerr

The Brexit Party

  1. Louis Stedman-Bryce
  2. Karina Kielbinska Walker
  3. James Ferguson-Hannah
  4. Stuart Waiton
  5. Paul Aitken
  6. Calum Walker


  1. Donald MacKay
  2. Janice MacKay
  3. Otto Inglis
  4. Mark Meechan
  5. Roy Hill
  6. Neil Wilson

Independent candidates

Gordon Edgar

Ken Parke