Following this year’s controversial Scottish Football Hall of Fame nominations and withdrawals, I am taking a look back at the inductees with connections to Hibernian FC.

The Scottish Football Hall of Fame is a permanent feature in the Scottish Football Museum to honour the truly great players, managers and officials who have reached the pinnacle of their profession and have made a significant contribution to Scotland’s football reputation through their skill, spirit and determination.

There are currently 112 football legends in the Hall of Fame including 20 who either wore the famous green and white jersey or sat in the Easter Road dug-out or directors’ box.

In 2004, the great Gordon Smith, arguably the finest player ever to grace Scottish football was inducted into the inaugural Hall, along with former Hibs’ manager Jock Stein, former general manager Billy McNeil and former player Matt Busby.

The following year, Gordon’s ‘Famous Five’ team mate Lawrie Reilly was inducted along with former manager Alex McLeish then in 2006 Willie Ormond entered the Hall.

Eddie Turnbull was honoured in 2007 then the following year former Hibs’ goalkeeper Jim Leighton joined him.

Former player and manager Bertie Auld was inducted in 2009 alongside Stevie Archibald then the following year Bobby Johnstone completed the legendry Famous Five forward line and was joined in the Hall by another former keeper Andy Goram.

Future manager Terry Butcher was inducted in 2011 alongside yet another former goalkeeper Ronnie Simpson and the great Pat Stanton was finally honoured in 2012.

Alan Rough became the fourth Hibs’ keeper to receive the honour in 2013 then two years later, former player Ally McLeod was inducted long with Terry Butcher’s assistant Maurice Malpas.

Last year, Allan McGraw who played for Hibs during the 1960s and whose son Mark also played for the club was deservedly inducted, making the total number of Hibs’ connections to twenty.

Seven of the twenty, the Famous Five, Pat Stanton and Alan Rough are also inductees of the Hibernian FC Hall of Fame whilst many of the others have been recognised for their contribution to other teams.

Eddie Turnbull, Alex McLeish, Ally McLeod and Jim Leighton have all been recognised by Aberdeen, Bertie Auld and Alan Rough by Partick Thistle, Terry Butcher and Andy Goram by Rangers, Gordon Smith by Dundee, Maurice Malpas by Dundee United and Allan McGraw by Morton.

Bobby Johnstone is included in the Manchester City Hall of Fame as part of the 1956 FA Cup winning team whilst European Cup winning manager Sir Matt Busby was also inducted into the inaugural English Football Hall of Fame in 2002 for his massive contribution to the beautiful game south of the border.