HRH The Duke of Cambridge presents RSE Royal Medals and James Clerk Maxwell Award

Last Thursday, 5th July 2018, the Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE) was delighted to welcome HRH The Duke of Cambridge KG KT to the Society’s premises to present the prestigious RSE Royal Medals and the IEEE/RSE James Clerk Maxwell Award to exceptional individuals from the fields of Engineering, Molecular Biology and Music.
HRH also signed the Fellows’ Roll Book to formally recognise his admission as a Royal Honorary Fellow, a title he was awarded in 2017. During his visit, HRH had the opportunity to learn more about important aspects of the RSE’S work as Scotland’s National Academy, meeting with a number of RSE Enterprise Fellows and individuals closely involved in the delivery of the RSE Outreach programme.
The RSE Enterprise Fellowship programme offers support, a year’s salary, mentoring and expert business training to researchers with and innovators with promising business ideas.
The RSE’s Outreach programme is dedicated to delivering inspiring and educational events and activities to local communities around Scotland.
Speaking about the occasion, RSE President, Professor Dame Anne Glover said, “We were thrilled to welcome His Royal Highness, the Duke of Cambridge, to present Royal Medals and to officially recognise his status as a Royal Honorary Fellow of the RSE. These medals recognise the outstanding achievements of talented individuals and today has been a wonderful celebration of the wide-ranging achievements and success of these medallists.
As this was His Royal Highness’ first visit to the RSE, we were also delighted that HRH took the time to learn more about the RSE’s work, in particular our Enterprise Fellowship and Outreach Programmes.”

This year’s distinguished Royal Medallists:
David Climie OBE, Project Director, Transport Scotland, Edinburgh, has built a reputation as one of the world’s greatest bridge builders.  Mr Climie’s contribution to bridge building around the world has resulted in economic and social growth for the countries he has worked in.  He is awarded a Royal Medal for his outstanding contribution to the field of Civil Engineering, particularly for his work on the Queensferry Crossing.
Professor Richard Henderson CH FRS, Emeritus Group Leader, the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, University of Cambridge and Nobel Laureate in Chemistry 2017, is a pioneering scientist in the field of electron microscopy whose work has led to advances that have resulted in new treatments for various diseases, with a lasting impact on humanity.  He is awarded a Royal Medal for his outstanding contribution to the field of Molecular Biology.
Thea Musgrave CBE, internationally recognised composer and conductor, New York, USA, is considered one of the most influential and successful Scottish composers of her time.  Through her work she has brought Scottish composition and musicianship international recognition. She is awarded a Royal Medal for her outstanding contribution to the betterment of humankind through music.
The joint recipients of this year’s IEEE/RSE James Clerk Maxwell Award are:
Mr Thomas Bryn Haug, Former Chairman, Special Mobile Group, CEPT ETSI, and Mr Philippe Raymond Dupuis, Former Chairman, Special Mobile Group, CEPT / ETSI.
They have been recognised for their leadership in the development of the first international mobile communications standard with subsequent evolution into worldwide smartphone data communication.