Candidates standing in Edinburgh’s five constituencies in the UK Parliamentary Election on 8 June 2017 were announced  yesterday evening as nominations for candidates closed at 4pm.

The nominated candidates for each constituency are listed in full below and on the Council website.

Some of these are now well kent faces. The three remaining SNP MPs, Tommy Sheppard, Deidre Brock and Joanna Cherry along with Labour’s Ian Murray have been fairly vocal in the last two years of the last parliament. But there are also some other names on the list which are known to us.

Conservative Iain McGill is standing again having lost his chance at a seat in the Holyrood election last year to Jeremy Balfour MSP on a cut of a pack of cards. McGill has stood many times and is a fervent campaigner. He is taking his chances in Edinburgh North and Leith against former Depute Lord Provost Deidre Brock and Labour Councillor Gordon Munro.

Jim Eadie who was until last year an MSP is taking on the apparent might of the Labour Party in Edinburgh South where not only Ian Murray has been their MP, but Daniel Johnson is the recently elected MSP.

Miles Briggs is a list MSP who is standing in Edinburgh South West against Joanna Cherry and also Foysol Choudhury MBE, a Bangladeshi born businessman who founded the Edinburgh Mela.

In Edinburgh West the Liberal Democrats believe they have their best chance as this was a LibDem seat till the last election. They are fielding a relative heavyweight candidate Christine Jardine against the SNP’s Toni Giugliano who was unsuccessful at the Holyrood elections and also Sandy Batho another unsuccessful candidate last year.

This is the full list and if your name is on it then we would like to meet you for interview.

Edinburgh East
GRAY, Tristan Philip Pierre – Scottish Liberal Democrats
KING, Patsy – Scottish Labour Party
MACKIE, Katie Crichton – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
SHEPPARD, Tommy – Scottish National Party (SNP)

Edinburgh North and Leith
BROCK, Deidre Leanne – Scottish National Party (SNP)
MCGILL, Iain – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
MUNRO, Gordon John – Labour and Co-operative Party
SLATER, Lorna Jane – Scottish Green Party
VEART, Martin – Scottish Liberal Democrats

Edinburgh South
BEAL, Alan Christopher – Scottish Liberal Democrats
EADIE, Jim – Scottish National Party (SNP)
MURRAY, Ian – Scottish Labour Party
SMITH, Stephanie Jane Harley – Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Edinburgh South West
BRIGGS, Miles Edward Frank – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
CHERRY, Joanna Catherine – Scottish National Party (SNP)
CHOUDHURY, Foysol Hussain – Scottish Labour Party
MIR, Aisha Jawaid – Scottish Liberal Democrats

Edinburgh West
BATHO, Sandy – Scottish Conservative and Unionist
GIUGLIANO, Toni – Scottish National Party (SNP)
JARDINE, Christine Anne – Scottish Liberal Democrats
TELFORD, Mandy – Scottish Labour Party
WHITTET, Mark Robertson – Scotland’s Independence Referendum Party

Andrew Kerr, Chief Executive of the City of Edinburgh Council and Returning Officer for Edinburgh in the UK Parliamentary Elections, said: “If you’re not registered for the UK Parliamentary Elections, make sure you don’t miss the deadline to register – go to and do it today, it only takes a few minutes.

“Voters should be aware that some polling places will be different on 8 June. Poll cards will begin landing on people’s doormats from next week (w/c 15 May) – please check your poll card carefully to make sure you get to the right place to cast your vote on polling day.”

To vote in the UK Parliamentary Elections on 8 June, voters must be aged 18 or over and either a British, Irish or qualifying Commonwealth citizen.

Voter registration closes at midnight on Monday 22 May. Anyone already registered for the Council elections on 4 May does not need to re-register. However, anyone who has changed address since the 4 May local elections needs to re-register to be able to vote in the UK Parliamentary Elections on 8 June.

Applications for postal votes must be submitted by 5pm on Tuesday 23 May. 

Voters are urged to check their poll cards carefully as some polling places will be different from those used in previous elections (including in the recent Council elections). Poll cards will be sent out from Monday 15 May.

Applications to vote by proxy must be submitted by 5pm on Wednesday 31 May.

Postal ballot packs will start being sent out during the week beginning Monday 22 May. Postal voters are encouraged to return their completed ballots as soon as possible.

Voters should mark an X beside one candidate.

Find out more about where, when and how to vote.