The winners at this year’s Creative Edinburgh awards were announced last night with Leith Late, Scottish £5 Banknote designers and Jupiter Artland among the winners. 

A whole host of Edinburgh based artists, designers, musicians and other creatives got together in Tollcross Central Hall last night as part of Creative Edinburgh’s fifth annual awards ceremony and birthday celebration.

The event is the culmination of another year’s work by Creative Edinburgh, who say the the evening is about “highlighting innovative thinking, great ideas and work to be proud of, no matter how big or small”.

There were nine categories this year, with specially designed trophies sculpted from rock from Salisbury Crags presented for a range of creative works including a city-wide achievement, social impact and student works. Presenting the awards were artists Fi Milligan Rennie and digital businessman Mike McGrail.

The Bonnington House Sculpture Garden Jupiter Artland won the first award of the night, the City Award for promoting Edinburgh on a national and international level.

Elsewhere The Scottish Poetry Library won the Creativity Award and the Student Award went to young illustrator Paula Caffrey.

Nile & The People’s Money Team won the commercial award for the design of the new polymer Scottish £5 notes.


Creative Edinburgh is a city-wide network of people and organisations who work in the creative industries, that aims to bring together creatives from all disciplines for collaboration and support.

Speaking shortly after the awards were presented, Janine Matheson, Creative Edinburgh’s Director said: “It’s always great for us to get the opportunity to showcase all the creative things going on here in Edinburgh. There’ve been really amazing winners and we’re all chuffed to bits with the evening.” 

Reflecting on the fifth anniversary of the organisation she helped found, Matheson said that it was really important to celebrate: “We’re still here and developing and changing and growing with our members. 

These artists and businesses mix creativity, culture and digital technology amazingly well and still manage to keep a strong sense of community. Really what’s not to like?”


Here’s the full list of Creative Edinburgh 2016 award winners:

The City Award

Shortlist: Local Heroes Design, Koshini Gaffney Architects, Jupiter Artland

Winner: Jupiter Artland

The Collaboration Award

Shortlist: Janis Claxton & Pippa Murphy, Werewolf & Unstable Creations, Rob St John, Simon Kirby, Tommy Perman and Random Spectacular

Winner: Janis Claxton & Pippa Murphy

The Commercial Award

Shortlist: Studio L+R, Nile & The People’s Money Team, Maggie Kosek

Winner: Nile & The People’s Money Team

The Creativity Award

Shortlist: Scottish Poetry Library, Janis Claxton & Pippa Murphy, Heather Marshall/Creative Electric 

Winner: Scottish Poetry Library

The Independent Award

Shortlist: Kam-Ling Design, Morvern Cunningham, Scott Willis

Winner: Morvern Cunningham

The Leadership Award

Shortlist: Adam Castle, Jack Nissan, Danielle Trudeau

Winner: Adam Castle

The Social Award

Shortlist: Edinburgh Tool Library, Lung Ha Theatre Company, WHALE Arts

Winner: WHALE Arts

The Startup Award

Shortlist: Brightside Studios, Werewolf, Wine Tube Map Ltd,

Winner: Werewolf 

The Student Award

Shortlist: Ellie Vallely, Michal Wdoiawk, Paula Caffrey

Winner: Paula Caffrey

For more, visit www.creative-edinburgh.com, photo credit Mihaela Bodlovic.