untitled (2)

Edinburgh born Leigh Griffiths has been named the Professional Footballer’s Association of Scotland Player of the Year.

The former Hibs’ striker has scored 39 goals this season including the third in Celtic’s 3-1 win over Hearts which effectively secures the title.

He beat the other nominees Aberdeen winger Jonny Hayes, and Dundee duo Kane Hemmings and Greg Stewart and was presented with the award last night at the Glasgow Hilton Hotel.

Team-mate Kieran Tierney won the Young Player of the Year award and was presented his award by former Celtic midfielder Stiliyan Petrov who has recently recovered from cancer.

Mark Warburton was named manager of the year whilst former Hearts full back and current Rangers’ captain Lee Wallace was named Championship player of the year.

Barrie McKay’s strike against Celtic in the Scottish Cup semi-final was voted goal of the season, beating Hibs’ winger Martin Boyle.

Dunfermline’s Moroccan forward Faissal el Bakhtaoui won the League One award, while East Fife’s Nathan Austin was player of the year for League Two.