Mo Phillips - Edniburghs Fav Driver - email

Over 150 Lothian Buses employees turned out at The Hub in Edinburgh last Saturday  for the company’s annual employee awards, celebrating the success of their colleagues.

The awards, which are in their 4th year, recognised 15 employees within different areas of the business who have shown continued hard work and enthusiasm in their day to day jobs.

Ian Craig, Chief Executive of Lothian Buses, said: “Every year we feel it’s really important to take some time to appreciate some of the great work our employees have been doing over the past twelve months.

“Once again, the awards highlight what a fantastic workforce we have. I congratulate all the winners on their achievement but also thank all of our staff for their performance and contributions.”

Awards this year included Employee of the Year, Apprentice of the Year, Edinburgh’s Favourite Bus Driver and the Special Achievement Award.

Three drivers were also selected as the top three Bus Drivers of the Year following an internal competition judged by the company delegated driving instructor. The competition included being observed while on service, a 20 question paper and 100 question theory test paper.

Edinburgh’s Favourite Bus Driver award, which was sponsored by The Metro, went to Morag Phillips who received 12 commendations from passengers this year alone on the back of her excellent customer service.

Jamie Lawson - Young Apprentice - emailThe Young Apprentice of the year was awarded to Jamie Lawson, 19, who has just started his third year in bus and coach engineering and maintenance modern apprentice.

Jamie said: “It’s great to be recognised by your company for the hard work you are doing. I’m really enjoying my apprenticeship, learning a lot at college and from doing the practical side in the workshop.”

Employee of the year was awarded to Gary Thompson who joined the company in 1995 as a part time bus cleaner but has now become an integral part of the engineering team at the central depot.

The other winners were:

  • Special Achievement – Ann McCracken for her performance as a driver and her involvement promoting Lothian Buses services
  • Young Employee of the year  – Stevie Chambers
  • Special Contribution – George McKendrick
  • East Lothian buses Driver of the Year – David Mitchell
  • Mature Apprentice of the Year – Roy Scobie
  • Top Tour Ticket Seller – Francis Murphy
  • Top Tour Driver – Keith Thomson
  • Top Tour Guide – Grant Kerr
  • Top Customer Service – Caroline Laird
  • Bus Driver of the Year winners – Scott Crosbie (3rd), Paul Munro (2nd)  and Steven McLeod (1st)