Professor Andrea Nolan has been appointed as the new Principal & Vice Chancellor of Edinburgh Napier University.


Professor Nolan, currently Senior Vice-Principal & Deputy Vice Chancellor at the University of Glasgow, will take up her post on 1 July 2013.


She will take the place of Professor Dame Joan Stringer, who will retire from the role of Principal after a decade in the post.


Today, Edinburgh Napier has almost 17,500 students, of which around 30% are international students studying either in Edinburgh or undertaking courses delivered with the University’s partners overseas.


Chair of Edinburgh Napier University Court, The Very Revd Dr Graham Forbes, said: “I am delighted to announce that the University Court has appointed Professor Andrea Nolan as our Principal and Vice Chancellor.


“She was the unanimous choice of our interview panel and is a worthy successor to Professor Dame Joan Stringer. We look forward to working with her to ensure the continued growth and success of the University.”


Professor Nolan said:  “I am delighted to be appointed as the next Principal and Vice Chancellor of Edinburgh Napier University. It is a privilege to lead the University, and I look forward very much to working with the University community, to build on the success of Professor Stringer’s principalship.”


Professor Nolan graduated as a veterinary surgeon from Trinity College Dublin, Ireland and after a short time in veterinary practice, embarked on an academic career which took her to the Universities of Cambridge, Bristol and the Technical University of Munich.


She was appointed as a Lecturer at the University of Glasgow in 1989 where she established herself as a researcher in the field of animal pain. She was made a Professor of Veterinary Pharmacology in 1998 and took up the post of Dean of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine a year later.


She became a Vice Principal for Learning & Teaching in 2004, and in 2009 was appointed to the position of Senior Vice-Principal & Deputy Vice Chancellor.


She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.