The Quaich Project is  the private-public partnership to design and redevelop the Ross Bandstand in West Princes Street Gardens as well as the area immediately around it. 

It is one of Europe’s most significant green space developments and those behind it hope it will allow the Gardens to emerge as one of the most acclaimed city gardens in the world on a par with projects such as New York’s High Line and Singapore’s Gardens by the Bay.

Its vision is to rethink the gardens as a space for all to celebrate and enjoy in new ways.

It began with a gift of £5 million from local businessman Norman Springford OBE. There has been a major capital spend on renovating the Ross Fountain (all backed by private funding) and there is now a new drive to raise the extra funds needed to create a new space fit for the 21st century in the gardens.

Work has been carried out to completely renovate The Gardener’s Cottage, one of Edinburgh’s best known sights. The project is currently within the design development stage, building towards a planning application being submitted in 2020.

A board of trustees administers and steers the project

Dates for public consultation on The Quaich Project have just been announced to run from 4 November-1st December 2019 on the following dates & venues:-

Central Library, 7-9 George IV Bridge, EH1 1EG
Saturday 9th November 10:30am-4:30pm
Monday 11th November 1:00pm-7:30pm
Tuesday 12th November 10:30am-4:30pm
Wednesday 13th November 1:00pm-7:30pm
Thursday 14th November 10:30am-4:30pm
Friday 15th November 10:30am-4:30pm
Saturday 16th November 10:30am-4:30pm

Morningside Library, 184 Morningside Road, EH10 4PU
Tuesday 19th November 1.00pm-7:30pm

Leith Library, 28-30 Ferry Road, EH6 4AE
Wednesday 20th November 1.00pm-7:30pm

Portobello Community Centre, 3 Adelphi Grove, EH15 1AP
Thursday 21st November 1pm-7:30pm

Drumbrae Library Hub, 81 Drumbrae Drive, EH4 7FE
Monday 25th November 10:30am-4:30pm

The concept design