Hibs remain in sixth place despite losing 2-0 to champions Celtic at Parkhead this afternoon.

Head Coach Jack Ross kept faith with the starting XI that hammered Aberdeen last weekend although Darren McGregor replaced Tom James on the bench.

A minute’s applause was held before kick off in memory of former Celtic player Ian Young who sadly passed away earlier in the week.

After an even start Ofir Marciano produced a superb save to deny Olivier Ntcham from 10 yards out but Hibs fought back and almost took the lead when Florian Kamberi linked up with Martin Boyle who cut in from the left and curled his shot inches wide of the post.

From then however Celtic dominated and the impressive Frimpong set up Odsonne Edouard who fired just wide.  Callum McGregor then forced Marciano into action with a long range effort.

With half-time approaching Ryan Porteous was dispossessed by Edouardo who found the unmarked Frimpong who slid the ball under Marciano from 10-yards.

Chris Maxwell replaced Marciano at the break and the hosts continued to dominate in the second half but with only one goal in it, the fans held their breath every time Hibs attacked.

Edouard missed a glorious opportunity from 8-yards by firing the ball high over the bar before Jason Naismith and Christian Doidge linked up well on the right wing but the full-back’s left foot effort went week wide.

Celtic virtually secured the victory after Boli Bolingoli’s cross found James Forrest who calmly slid the ball into Edourad’s path and the striker made no mistake from close range.

Darly Horgan replaced Christian Doidge and almost helped Hibs to pull one back when he whipped in a dangerous cross from the left which struck Christopher Jullien causing Fraser Forster to make a superb instinctive save.

Fraser Murray replaced Kamberi in the closing minutes.

Hibs now face second placed Rangers at home next Friday night.

Celtic: Forster, Frimpong, Bitton, Jullien, Ajer, Bolingoli, Brown, Ntcham, McGregor, Forrest, Edouard

Subs: Gordon, Taylor, Bauer, Rogic, Morgan, Bayo, Griffiths

Hibs: Marciano, Naismith, Porteous, Hanlon, Stevenson, Hallberg, Boyle, Mallan, Allan, Kamberi, Doidge

Subs: Maxwell, Jackson, McGregor, Slivka, Horgan, Murray, Shaw

Referee John Beaton

Attendance 57,598