Squad named for opening round of the Guinness Women's Six Nations

Scotland Women Head Coach Bryan Easson has named his squad for the opening round of the Guinness Women's Six Nations, as they prepare to take on Wales at Hive Stadium this Saturday (22 March 2025, kick-off 4.45pm).

Hollie Cunningham is set to make her international debut, starting in the second row alongside experienced campaigner Sarah Bonar. The pack also features Anne Young and Elliann Clarke, who both earn a first Six Nations start at loosehead and tighthead prop respectively, with Scotland stalwart Lana Skeldon lining up at hooker.

Captain Rachel Malcolm leads from the blindside, forming a dynamic back-row trio with openside flanker Rachel McLachlan and the powerful Evie Gallagher at number 8.

In the backs, Leia Brebner-Holden will steer the attack from scrum-half, linking up with Helen Nelson at stand-off. The midfield partnership of Lisa Thomson and Emma Orr resumes in the centre, while an exciting back three sees Rhona Lloyd and Francesca McGhie take to the wings, with Chloe Rollie at fullback.

Easson has opted for a 6-2 split on the bench, with Evie Wills

in line to make her first international appearance in three years should she be called upon. Caity Mattinson provides cover at scrum-half, while second row Adelle Ferrie could mark her Scotland debut after being named among the replacement forwards alongside Elis Martin, Leah Bartlett, Christine Belisle, Alex Stewart, and Jade Konkel.

Scotland Women team (caps in brackets) to face Wales in Round 1 of the 2025Guinness Women's Six Nations on Saturday 22 March (kick-off 4.45pm) – broadcast live across BBC Two and iPlayer from 4.30p

15. Chloe Rollie – Trailfinders Women (70), 14. Rhona Lloyd – Les Lionnes du Stade Bordelais (52), 13. Emma Orr – Bristol Bears (24), 12. Lisa Thomson – Trailfinders Women (64), 11. Francesca McGhie – Leicester Tigers (17), 10. Helen Nelson (vice-captain) – Loughborough Lightning (65), 9. Leia Brebner-Holden – Loughborough Lightning (5)

1. Anne Young – Loughborough Lightning (15), 2. Lana Skeldon – Bristol Bears (74), 3. Elliann Clarke – Bristol Bears (15) 4. Hollie Cunningham – Bristol Bears (uncapped), 5. Sarah Bonar – Harlequins (42), 6. Rachel Malcolm (captain) – Unattached (52), 7. Rachel McLachlan – Montpellier (46), 8. Evie Gallagher – Bristol Bears (31

Replacements; 16. Elis Martin – Loughborough Lightning (15, 17. Leah Bartlett – Leicester Tigers (38), 18. Christine Belisle – Loughborough Lightning (40), 19. Adelle Ferrie – Edinburgh Rugby/Corstorphine Cougars (uncapped), 20. Alex Stewart – Edinburgh Rugby/Corstorphine Cougars (8) 21. Jade Konkel – Harlequins (66), 22. Caity Mattinson – Trailfinders Women (27), 23. Evie Wills – Leicester Tigers (3)