## Surfing championships held in Edinburgh on Saturday

The Gathering of the Clans (Scottish Inter-Club Surfing Championships) took place on Saturday at Lost Shore Surf Resort – the first ever surfing event to take place at the new wave pool.

Winners were Craig Mclachlan who won the mens final and Callie Cruickshank who won the Open Women's section and the junior girls' trophy.

Recent iterations of this event have taken place all around Scotland – Pease Bay, Shetland, Fraserburgh, Tiree, Thurso and Aberdeen and this will be the first time the event will have taken place so close to the capital and as such Scottish Surfing were hoping for a showcase to a whole new audience.

Defending Open division champions for the last two years Phoebe Strachan (NSSC) and Mark Boyd (NSSC) will be defending their titles as well as trying to win the club title for the North Shore Surf Club for the seventh consecutive year.

Phoebe Strachan said before the event: "I'm really looking forward to this weekend's event which is a great opportunity for people to come and see the ever increasing standard of Scottish Surfing — the team aspect of the comp is going to be really exciting this year and I can't wait to compete in a pool for the first time."

Last year's Open Men's runner up and Junior winner Craig

McLachlan (NSSC), now graduated out of the junior division, was looking to take top honours along with his team mates. Sam Christopherson of Belhaven Surf Club (BHSC) defended the Masters (40+) title, Callie Cruickshank of the Broch Surf Club (BSC) the Junior Girls division and despite being victorious for the Broch in last year's Longboard division, Malcolm Findlay was replaced by Glen Bruce (BSC).

The following club teams competed in the event for the Clans sword and quaich:

- North Shore Surf Club (Thurso)
- Belhaven Surf Club (Dunbar)
- Broch Surf Club (Fraserburgh)
- Edinburgh & Borders Surf Club (Edinburgh)
- Lossie Surf Club (Lossiemouth)
- Aberdeen Surf Club (Aberdeen)
- Sandend Surf Club (Sandend)
- Tiree Surf Club (Tiree)

## ALL PHOTOS TONY MARSH PHOTOGRAPHY



CALLIE CRUICKSHANK WHO WON THE OPEN WOMENS SECTION AND THE JUNIOR GIRLS TROPHY



CRAIG MCLACHLAN WINNER OF THE MENS FINAL



CALLIE CRUICKSHANK WHO WON THE OPEN WOMENS SECTION AND THE JUNIOR GIRLS TROPHY