Findlay appoints members of his shadow cabinet

The newly elected leader of the Scottish Conservatives, Russell Findlay MSP, has appointed the members of his shadow cabinet.

Some of the Lothians and Edinburgh MSPs are on the list — Sue Webber who is a Lothians MSP is now Shadow Cabinet Secretary for transport, Miles Briggs, also a Lothians MSP is Shadow Cabinet Secretary for education and skills, and Jeremy Balfour, also a Lothians MSP, is the Shadow minister for social justice.

Scottish Conservative leader Russell Findlay said: "Our new shadow cabinet will work hard to earn the trust of the public by telling it straight and only making promises we can keep.

"We are ready to stand up for everyone who feels disillusioned with the state of politics and the fringe obsessions of the Scottish Parliament. Moving forward, the Scottish Conservatives will reconnect with common-sense values and put forward a bold vision for the future of our country that champions opportunity, aspiration and decency.

"We will present positive new policies to fire up economic growth, create opportunities for workers and businesses, reward aspiration with lower taxes, improve school standards and increase home ownership.

"The SNP and Labour waste too much time on divisive policies instead of the bread-and-butter issues which affect people's lives. We will do things differently and represent everyone

who just wants politicians to show some common sense, for a change."

The Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party have 31 MSPs, the second largest party to the SNP which has 62 members, and this entitles them to form the shadow government. It also means that the Conservative leader has the first question at First Minister's Questions before the other parties.

The details are shown below.

Shadow cabinet

- Leader Russell Findlay
- Deputy leader Rachael Hamilton
- Shadow cabinet secretary for finance and local government — Craig Hoy
- Shadow cabinet secretary for business, economy, tourismand culture Murdo Fraser
- Shadow cabinet secretary for health and social care Dr
 Sandesh Gulhane
- Shadow cabinet secretary for education and skills –
 Miles Briggs
- Shadow cabinet secretary for net zero and energy Douglas Lumsden
- Shadow cabinet secretary for justice Liam Kerr
- Shadow cabinet secretary for social security Liz Smith
- Shadow cabinet secretary for housing Meghan Gallacher
- Shadow cabinet secretary for transport Sue Webber
- Shadow cabinet secretary for rural affairs, land reform
 and fishing Tim Eagle
- Chief whip Alexander Burnett

Also attending shadow cabinet meetings: **deputy chair of party** and **shadow minister for investment and employment** — Pam Gosal and **deputy chief whip and shadow minister for victims and**

community safety - Sharon Dowey.

Craig Hoy will remain as party chairman for the interim until a successor is appointed.

Shadow ministerial appointments

- Shadow minister for public health, social care, mental
 wellbeing and sport Brian Whittle
- Shadow minister for drugs, alcohol and women's health —
 Annie Wells
- Shadow minister for local government and public finance — Alexander Stewart
- Shadow minister for children and young people –
 Roz McCall
- Shadow minister for equalities Tess White
- Shadow minister for social justice Jeremy Balfour
- Shadow minister for agriculture, connectivity
 and islands Jamie Halcro Johnston
- Shadow minister for veterans Edward Mountain



Newly elected MSPs are welcomed to the Chamber of the Scottish Parliament for the first time by Parliament's Clerk/Chief Executive David McGill. Pic — Andrew Cowan/Scottish Parliament