First-half penalty miss denies Hibs share of the points at Ibrox

A missed first-half penalty denied Hibs a share of the points at a packed Ibrox this afternoon.

Playing at home for the first time in this league campaign, Rangers had the better of the first half but Hibs fought back and were unlucky not to get a point after a brave second half performance.

Head Coach David Gray made three changes from the team that started against St Johnstone two weeks ago.

Lewis Miller started alongside an unchanged back line of Chris Cadden, Warren O'Hora, Marvin Ekpiteta and Jordan Obita.

Nectar Triantis and Kwon kept their place in the middle of the pitch, with Josh Campbell also making a return to the starting XI.

The final change saw Junior Hoilett make his first start for the club, with Mykola Kuharevich leading the line.

Rudi Molotnikov, Elie Youan, Dylan Levitt and Harry McKirdy were all named among the substitutes.

Both Jack Iredale and Dwight Gayle were also included in the matchday squad.

Regulars Martin Boyle and Joe Newell were unavailable due to injury, whilst Kieron Bowie remains a longer-term absentee.

Rangers boss Philippe Clement made four changes to the side that won 2-0 in Malmo on Thursday, with summer signing Hamza Igamane handed his first start.

Jefte returned from suspension at left-back, with Nico Raskin starting in midfield and Ross McCausland on the wing after his Europa League goal in Sweden.

First chance of the day fell to Hibs when Jack Butland could only tip away Cadden's deep cross. The ball fell to Hoilett but his volley went well over the bar.

Hibs then had another chance following a corner when the ball fell to Kwon Hyeok-kyu, but the on-loan Celtic midfielder's powerful drive was superbly blocked by Rangers centre-back John Souttar.

The home side then started to dominate possession winning a number of corners but the Hibs defence held firm.

Triantis was harshly shown a yellow card following a challenge on Nico Raskin but with the Ibrox crowd demanding a red card a VAR check decided a booking was sufficient.

The deadlock was eventually broken in the 34th minute when McCausland's through ball found Tom Lawrence who curled a sensational strike into the top corner of the net.

The linesman's flag was raised immediately but the goal was eventually given after a lengthy VAR check with Ekpiteta playing the striker onside.

Hibs fought back and Cadden found Campbell in plenty of space but his effort was easily saved by Butland.

Butland then denied Kwon with a fine save and from the resultant corner Souttar clearly blocked Kuharevich's effort with his elbow.

Following another VAR check Kuharevich took the resultant

penalty but after pausing his run up Butland guessed correctly and managed to pull off a save.

Half time Rangers 1 Hibs 0

Clement made two changes at half time.

Kieran Dowell replaced Raskin and Nedim Bajrami took over from McCausland for the second-half.

Hibs started the second period on the front foot and Kuharevich rose above the Rangers defence, but the big Ukrainian striker's header went well wide.

Campbell then mishit a Hoilett free-kick after breaking clear as Hibs pressed for an equaliser.

Igamane was replaced with fellow striker Cyriel Dessers then Kwon went close with a powerful effort from 25-yards.

In the 65th minute Gray made a double substitution with Gayle making his Hibs debut, coming on for Hoilett, and Youan replacing Kuharevich.

Clement also introduced Dujon Sterling for Cerny.

With 15-minutes remaining McKirdy and Dylan Levitt replaced Campbell and Kwon. And moments later Nathan Moriah Welsh replaced Triantes.

Rangers almost doubled their advantage but a wonder save from Bursik kept out a Dessers' header.

Gayle then went close with a header from Cadden's cross as play raged from end to end.

Neraysho Kasanwirjo replaced goal scorer Lawrence in the closing stages before Robin Propper headed over from 12 yards.

Cadden and O'Hora both had chances in time added on but the

three points remained in Glasgow.

Rangers: Butland, Tavernier, Souttar, Propper, Jefte, Barron, Raskin, McCausland, Lawrence, Cerny, Igamane.

Substitutes: Kelly, Dessers, Bajrami, Dowell, Sterling, Kasanwirjo, Balogun, Fraser, McKinnon.

Hibs: Bursik, Miller, Ekpiteta, O'Hora, Obita, Kwon, Triantis, C. Cadden, Campbell, Hoilett, Kuharevich.

Substitutes: Smith, Levitt, Youan, Iredale, McKirdy, Moriah-Welsh, Bushiri, Gayle, Molotnikov.