Hibs exit the Premier Sports League Cup at the hands of Celtic

Hibs exited the Premier Sports League Cup at the hands of Celtic at Parkhead the afternoon.

Remarkably with Hearts losing to Falkirk yesterday, only The Spartans will represent the capital in the last eight.

David Gray made two changes to his starting line up with Dylan Levitt and Rudi Molotnikov making way for Rocky Bushiri and Nathan Moriah-Welsh.

New midfield signing Hyeok-kyu Kwon was unable to play against his parent club.

Like last week Celtic went ahead in the third minute when Nicolas Kuhn slid the ball to Reo Hatate, who cut it back neatly for Daizen Maeda and he lifted it over goalkeeper Josef Bursik.

The Hoops added a second in the $15^{\rm th}$ minute when Kuhn's lofted pass found Maeda who used his pace and prodded the ball into the net to double his side's advantage.

With Celtic well on top and looking likely to add to their lead Hibs pulled one back out of nothing in the 34th minute.

Mykola Kuharevich was fouled in the middle of the park by Cameron Carter-Vickers, who picked up a booking.

Martin Boyle took the resulting free kick and Kuharevich

outjumped the Celtic defence and his brilliant header looped into the net.

The goal was checked for offside but eventually given by referee Kevin Clancy.

Celtic had a penalty claim denied when James Forrest went down under a challenge from Marvin Ekpiteta and Joe Newell but the ref gave a corner.

Half time Celtic 2 Hibs 1

Nicky Cadden replaced Nathan Moriah-Welsh in midfield for the second half and the debutant tested the Celtic keeper with a long range effort.

With the Hibs fans starting to hope, Celtic added a third due to some poor defending from the visitors.

Bursik took a short goal kick to Bushiri who passed to Ekpiteta. Instead of clearing the ball, the defender passed pack to Bursik who was closed down by Khun and the ball deflected into the net.

Celtic continued to dominate possession with Hibs trying to hit on the break but the final result was never in doubt.

Celtic: Schmeichel, Johnston, Carter-Vickers, Scales, Taylor, McGregor, O'Riley, Hatate, Kuhn, Forrest, Maeda.

Substitutes: Sinisalo, Palma, Idah, Yang, Holm, Bernardo, Ralston, Welsh, Turley.

Hibernian: Bursik, Miller, Bushiri, Ekpiteta, O'Hora, Obita, Newell, Moriah-Welsh, Campbell, Boyle, Kuharevich.

Substitutes: Smith, Levitt, C Cadden, Amos, McKirdy, N Cadden, Bowie, Megwa, Molotnikov.