Grange are masters of Masterton Trophy cricket

Grange won the venerable Masterton Twenty:20 cricket trophy in its new finals day format when overcoming the challenge of first Heriot's and then Carlton at Portgower Place.

Skipper Angus Brown led by example with a sparkling 110 as they chased down a Heriot's total of 136-7, Jack Jarvis taking 3-22 with the ball.

In the final Carlton posted a notable 177-5 but Grange got home with seven balls to spare for the loss of six wickets, Jamie Crawley top scoring with 49.





Alec Davies' photographs show Angus Brown receiving the trophy from Masterton Trophy committee chairman Ramsay Allan.

Also, the Grange squad including players who helped them through qualifying rounds proudly line-up with the trophy.

They are: Back Row, left to right: Liam Smith, Fin McCreath, Robbie McGlasham, Jack Jarvis, Charlie Peet, Ben Davidson and Jamie Crawley.

Front Row, left to right: Harris Carnegie (wicket keeper), Preston Mommsen, Tom Sole, Angus Brown, captain, Chris Greaves, Jasper Davidson and Fred Huddleston.

Grange now go forward to represent the East of Scotland in the national finals later this year.