General Election – Edinburgh South – examining the 2019 results

Voters in Edinburgh South elected the only Scottish Labour MP in Scotland at the time.

Scottish Labour's Ian Murray has held the seat since the 2010 election and secured victory again in 2019. He procured nearly 23,745 votes and close to half of the vote share, although the majority of 11,095 was a drop of 7% from his 2017 victory.

The SNP's Catriona Macdonald came second with 12,650 votes and approximately 25% of the vote, while the Scottish Conservatives were not too far behind with 8,161 votes and more than 16% of the vote share with candidate Nick Cook who had been a member of the Transport Committee on the council.

Doing less well in 2019 were the Scottish Liberal Democrats, with 3,819 votes for Alan Beal who is now a councillor in Corstorphine/Murrayfield, and the Scottish Greens Kate Nevens with 1,357 votes. Combined, they barely achieved more than 10% of the vote share.

The 2019 results are shown below.

<u>All of the 2024 candidates in every constituency are listed</u> <u>here. The results are expected any time after 4am on Friday</u> <u>morning.</u>

Edinburgh South 2019 ResultsDownload