## Big wins for Edinburgh at Scottish Transport Awards

Edinburgh has won several of the honours at the annual Scottish Transport Awards held in Glasgow on Thursday evening which recognise schemes that "make an impactful change to Scotland's transport sector".

The first award was for Excellence in Transport Design for the City Centre West to East Link (CCWEL) and street improvements project, Excellence in Transport Planning for the council's City Mobility Plan, and to top it off, Hannah Ross, Head of Major Projects and Commissioning, and Daisy Naryanan, MBE, who until recently worked with the council, both received individual award for their outstanding contribution to the Scottish transport sector. Ms Ross led on the Trams to Newhaven project which began carrying passengers last year and Ms Naryanan was in charge of the redesign of the City Centre George Street First New Town scheme.

Edinburgh Trams also triumphed by winning the highly competitive Transport Team/Partnership of the Year award for their exceptional work on the Newhaven extension. Judges said "their commitment to delivering the project on time, on budget, and with safety as a priority has significantly enhanced the city's connectivity and sustainability. The results are clear, with customer numbers doubling in the past year".

Cabinet Secretary for Transport Fiona Hyslop said: "It was an honour to speak at the awards ceremony and recognise the achievements of some previously unsung heroes in our transport sector.

"I particularly enjoyed handing out the Frontline Employee of the Year award, and also meeting

so many people who are working so hard behind the scenes, day in, day out, to keep Scotland moving.

"It was my second Scottish Transport Awards, and I was able to reflect on the progress made over

the past 12 months on so many projects and initiatives. However, we must keep up momentum

and continue to build on these foundations. There is much still to do, and we will only deliver

lasting change by working together on our key ambitions and priorities.

"Well done everyone on such a fitting occasion to celebrate your success."

- Full list of winners and commendations
- 1.Most Effective Road Safety, Traffic Management & Enforcement (sponsored by First Bus)
- Winner: South Lanarkshire Council: Road Safety Programme
- 2.Excellence in Walking, Public Realm, Cycling
- Winner: Glasgow City Council East City Way Phases 6 & 7
- Commended: NG Homes and Cycling Scotland: Supporting social housing tenants to travel by
- bike
- 3.Best Practice in Travel to School and Work Schemes
- Winner: Glasgow City Council: STARS School Travel and Road Safety
- 4.Excellence in Transport Accessibility
- Winner: HITRANS: Go-Hi and Motability Mobility Credit Pilot

- Commended: Badenoch & Strathspey Community ConnXions
- 5.Excellence in Travel Information and Marketing
- Winner: First Bus: Under 22s 'Free to Explore' Campaign
- Commended: Stagecoach Scotland: "Bussed It, Bossed It" youth campaign
- 6.Excellence in Technology and Innovation
- Winner: Fugro: RILA® Survey of Scotland Rail
- 7.Best Bus Service
- Winner: Glenfarg Community Transport Group: The 55 Bus
- **Commended**: Stagecoach East Scotland: Fife to Edinburgh Airport on JET747
- 8.Contribution to Sustainable Transport
- Winner: Aberdeen City Council: Aberdeen City Centre Bus Priority Measures
- 9.Transport Team / Partnership of the Year
- Winner: Edinburgh Trams: Trams to Newhaven
- Commended: HITRANS: HI-BIKE
- 10.Most Innovative Transport Project of the Year (Sponsored by Avanti)
- Winner: Aberdeen International Airport: Project CAELUS
- 11.Airport of the Year
- Winner: Glasgow Airport
- 12.Rail Supplier of the Year
- Winner: AmcoGiffen: NR Civils Asset Management –
  Emergency and Reactive Works
- 13.Excellence in Transport Design
- Winner: The City of Edinburgh Council: City Centre West to East Link and Street Improvements Project
- Commended: Story Contracting: Burton Underpass & Sensory Garden
- 14.Excellence in Transport Planning
- Winner: The City of Edinburgh Council: Edinburgh's City Mobility Plan and Our Future Streets
- 15. Outstanding contribution to Transport
- Winner: Hannah Ross, City of Edinburgh Council
- 16.Outstanding contribution to Transport
- Winner: Daisy Naryanan MBE

- 17.Lifetime contribution to Transport
- Ralph Roberts, Chief Executive, McGills
- 18.Frontline Employee of the Year
- Winner: Mohammad Ramzan, McGill's Bus Service Ltd
- Commended: John MacDonald, Caledonian MacBrayne; John Fry, First Bus Scotland; Kian
- Greene, McGill's Bus Service Ltd; Kary-Ann McGregor,
  McGill's Bus Service Ltd; Colin Hunter,
- Stagecoach East Scotland
- 19. Public Transport Operator of the Year
- Winner: Scottish Citylink Coaches Ltd
- 20.Transport Local Authority of the Year
- Winner: Strathclyde Partnership for Transport

The photos below show some of the CCWEL which runs from Roseburn through Haymarket to the West End, along Melville Street and then on towards Picardy Place.



















Edinburgh Tram © 2023 Martin McAdam