Edinburgh Napier students win at The Herald 2024 Student Press Awards

At the Herald Student Press Awards Edinburgh Napier journalism students were among the winners at an awards ceremony held in Glasgow on Wednesday evening, hosted by Herald editor Catherine Salmond and editor-in-chief, Callum Baird.

Catherine Salmond said: "This is one small way The Herald can acknowledge aspiring journalist's efforts and achievements, share the joys of our fantastic industry, and encourage young people that if they want to take their talents further in this trade, they absolutely can – and should.

"This job allows people to drive meaningful, important change, hold power to account and give a voice to those who may not otherwise have one.

"The judging panel was impressed by both quality in all submissions. Choosing the winners was a difficult task and the standard of work shows that there is an abundance of talent among the next generation of young Scottish journalists."



L-R Stuart Moyes and Jamie Smith receiving their award Jamie Smith and Stuart Moyes won the award for the best use of Multimedia for Globe unpacked a Radio ENRG podcast, and Ciaran Foreman was declared Sports Writer of the Year.

The awards were sponsored by Weber Shandwick and took place in the Herald's Bath Street offices. There were nine categories and judges included the mighty Kevin McKenna, Herald writer, Derek McArthur who is engagement editor, Newsquest group editor West Scotland, Gillian Murphy and production editor Mike McKenzie. Some of the prizes include paid internships with the paper.

Jamie said:"Stuart and I were thrilled to pick up this award for work on our international affairs podcast which we started this year outside our coursework for the MA Journalism programme at Napier. It's an incredible level of recognition for our collaboration on this – having The Herald show appreciation for what we have produced. Cannot thank them enough. So many talented nominees – we're very pleased."

Stuart said: "I'm beyond thrilled that our podcast actually won. It's incredibly encouraging to receive this kind of feedback and recognition for a project we worked so hard to make as strong and as professional as we could. As student journalists, we're no strangers to self-doubt or crises of confidence, and things like this really help remind us what we're capable of. I'm incredibly grateful to The Herald for that."

Ciaran won the award for Best Sports Writer. He said: "It was an amazing feeling to win the award. I can't lie, there's a lot of feelings of impostor syndrome when you're trying to make it in the industry, but my family and all the staff at Napier have been so supportive of me and my work. So, I couldn't have done it without them."

Carolyn Scott, Lecturer in Journalism at Edinburgh Napier University said: "We have the great pleasure of working with talented up-and-coming journalists every day, and it is wonderful to see our students gain recognition in the wider industry. We are incredibly proud of the eight students who received nominations, ranging from first-year undergraduates to Master's students. We were especially proud and delighted to see three of our students win in two categories.

"We are also deeply grateful to the Herald for relaunching this initiative and supporting the future generation of reporters. We look forward to participating again next year."

Lecturer Miranda Hurst said: "So proud of our Edinburgh Napier University Journalism students who triumphed in The Herald Scotland student journalist awards. Huge congratulations to Stuart Moyes and Jamie Smith on winning Best Use of Multi Media for their podcast and Ciran Foreman for winning Sports Writer of the Year. Big shout out too to Bohdan Tymoschchuk for being nominated as Columnist of the Year (what an achievement for a first year student!) and our MAs Bethany Lee, Anna Flynn, Veronica Buccino and Lauren Cameron for being nominated for their ENRG podcast. Thanks to Catherine Salmond and her team for making it such a great event."



BA ans Masters students from Edinburgh Napier at the awards ceremony Awards

The full list of finalists and winners in the Scottish Student Press Awards:

Best use of Multi-Media

Chloe Liddell, BrigCast, Brig Newspaper, The University of Stirling

Bethany Lee, Anna Flynn, Veronica Buccino & Lauren Cameron, Head First Podcast (ENRG Podcasts).

Jamie Smith & Stuart Moyes, Globe Unpacked (Radio ENRG Podcasts) – Winner

Design of the Year (Newspaper or Magazine)

Freya Deyell, Brig Newspaper, The University of Stirling

Kirstie Clark, Sober, Robert Gordon University – Winner

Columnist of the Year

Bohdan Tymoshchuk, Edinburgh Napier University

Callum Devereux, The Student, The University of Edinburgh

Jess Urquhart, Brig Newspaper, The University of Stirling - Winner

Katie McKay, Glasgow Guardian, The University of Glasgow

Features Writer of the Year

Fiona Brown, Glasgow Standard, Glasgow Caledonian University Jamie Smith, Surge & ENRG Culture, Edinburgh Napier University Kirstie Clark, Sober, Robert Gordon University Niamh Flanagan, The Glasgow Guardian, The University of Glasgow — Winner

Omar Malik, Blether Magazine, University of Strathclyde

Rhiannon McGovern, The Strathclyde Telegraph, University of Strathclyde

News Writer of the Year

- Athina Bohner, The Glasgow Guardian, The University of Glasgow
- Josh Pizzuto-Pomaco, The Gaudie, The University of Aberdeen – Winner
- Nicholas Malizia, The Student, The University of Edinburgh

Sports Writer of the Year

- Ciaran Foreman, Scot Shot, Edinburgh Napier University Winner
- Nathan Hassett, Brig Newspaper, The University of Stirling
- Oliver Kennedy, The Gaudie, The University of Aberdeen

Student News Brand of the Year

- Brig Newspaper, The University of Stirling
- The Gaudie, The University of Aberdeen
- The Glasgow Guardian, The University of Glasgow Winner

Student Journalist of the Year

Josh Pizzuto-Pomaco, The University of Aberdeen