Boroughmuir Cricket Club keeps its captains for 2024

Few clubs in East League cricket experienced more last day drama in 2023 than Boroughmuir.

The 1sts, who will again be captained by Syed Ahmed, had to settle for fourth place in Division Three after a wash-out saw their promotion hopes stymied.

Also, the 2nds, who will again be captained by Paul Hutton, will be looking for a more comfortable ride in Division Six than when it needed a match winning wicket from Irfan Mohammed provided the one run victory over Peebles to avoid relegation. Talk about cutting it fine.

For the 1st X1 last season's leading performers Syed Mahmood, Shubham Sachdeva, Syed Ahmed and hopefully Umer Mohammed Asif are returning but top run scorer Rajat Chauhan has moved away from the area.

Irfan Mohammed, Jamie Good and Tom Reel were the leading contributors for the 2nds last season and are all returning again.

Sai Mirjumla will again captain the mid-week team with the aim of regaining the Terry Newcombe Trophy won in 2022.

Indoor nets have now commenced at George Watson's College until 17 March when practice moves outdoors. Newcomers welcome.



Flashback to Boroughmuir's win in the 2022 Terry Newcombe Trophy final.