Portobello win the BMC Water Polo Cup

Portobello under18s win in Dunfermline.

The team came from a goal behind with three minutes remaining to snatch an 8-7 victory over Worthing and lift the BMC Water Polo Cup, named in honour of the late Brian Campbell, in a thrilling final.



The tournament, commemorating the late and much lamented coach

who died in 2019, was played over 4 \times 6 minute periods and teams came from across the UK with Warrender also flying the flag for Edinburgh water polo.

Top scorer with 26 goals was Porty's Davide Ingala while the most valuable player award went to Worthing's Tumay Evcimen with Tobias Khawar of Radcliffe named most valuable goalkeeper.

Alasdair Campbell, who, along with brothers Darren and Chris organised the three day event in memory of his dad said:

"Of the four Brian Campbell Cups we have held, including a girls event earlier, this was by far the best.

"Over 150 players took part and many of the games were extremely close, summed up by the final itself."

An inaugural under-15 tournament was won by Menzieshill.

The winning Portobello squad comprised Oliver Henderson, Davide Ingala, Lorcan McNally, Will Hurd, Giovanni Giunto, Giovanni Medri, Dominic Moodie, Fergus Wood, Alexander Scott-Watson, Ben Williamson, Alex Hurd, Joe Mathieson and Struan Bailey.



Tournament top scorer Davide Ingala of Portobello WPC pictured with co-organisers Chris Campbell, left, and Darren Campbell. Photo credit: Viola Madau



Portobello water pol under-18s celebrate with the Brian

Campbell memorial cup. Picture credit: Viola Madau.