## Carlton cricket hold their prize-giving ceremony

Dan Da Costa collected four trophies when Carlton cricket club staged their annual prize giving in mid-winter allowing players and members an opportunity to get together in the close season.

Dan won the  $1^{\text{st}}$  X1 batting award as well as trophies for wicket keeping and six-hitting.

He was also named "Player's Player of the Year" and is pictured alongside Sarah Beith who was "Women's Player's Player of the Year".

Women's Player of the Year is Maisie Maceira, right, who is pictured receiving her trophy from colleague Sam Haggo (women's batting prize). Maisie was also best women's bowler.

A notable annual prize at Carlton is the Jimmy Jappy Trophy commemorating a club stalwart of yesteryear and recognising outstanding service at the Grange Loan-based outfit.

Winner in 2023 was David Simpson, right, who was presented with the accolade by ex-club captain and president, Hugh Parker.

Other notables honoured included Rory Allardice (1<sup>st</sup> X1 fielding), Shujaa Khan (best individual performance), Tom Hathorn (best introduction to senior cricket), Flora Corbin

(best women's fielding) and Arun Pillai (1st X1 bowling).

Lower teams roll of honour:

Charlie Kentish (2<sup>nd</sup> X1 batting), Armaan Bedi (2<sup>nd</sup> X1 bowling), Ben Stonach (2<sup>nd</sup> X1 fielding), Holly Sladen (women's 2<sup>nd</sup> X1 batting), Sonia Amin (women's 2<sup>nd</sup> X1 bowling), Libby Wallace (women's 2<sup>nd</sup> X1 fielding), Paul Kentish (3<sup>rd</sup> X1 batting), Brad McKay (3<sup>rd</sup> X1 bowling), Shaun Smith (3<sup>rd</sup> X1 fielding), Chris Sale (4<sup>th</sup> X1 batting), Shreyas Tekale (4<sup>th</sup> X1 bowling), Dan Mowat (4<sup>th</sup> X1 fielding), Tom Hathorn (5<sup>th</sup> X1 batting), Rahul Khadse (5<sup>th</sup> X1 bowling), Aadi Khadse (5<sup>th</sup> X1 fielding).

Picture credits: Gavin Murray





