Dave's Edinburgh Comedy Awards 2022 – judging panel announced

Producer Nica Burns, Director of Dave's Edinburgh Comedy Awards has announced the names of those appointed to the judging panel for this year's Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

The panel will be made up of:

Adnan Ahmed, Chair: Producer, Sky Studios Comedy Cherie Cunningham: Channel Director, Dave Ashley Davies: Freelance Arts Journalist, Metro Scotland and Times Scotland's Alba

Joe Hullait: Commissioning Executive, Channel 4 Comedy Isobel Lewis: Comedy Critic and Culture Journalist, Independent Dominic Maxwell: Comedy Critic, The Times Pete Strauss: Executive Producer, BBC Studios Audio Paul Abbey: Public Competition Winner Jo Kinsella: Public Competition Winner Monique May Munroe: Public Competition Winner

Nominations will be announced on 24 August and the ceremony when the winners will be revealed will be held at Dovecot Studios on 27 August.

The Awards categories are:

- Best Comedy Show with a cash prize of £10,000
- Best Newcomer with a cash prize of £5,000
- Panel Prize with a cash prize of £5,000.

Nica Burns said: "After a two-year worldwide hiatus, the renowned Dave's Edinburgh Comedy Awards are delighted to be back with an exciting and experienced judging panel looking forward to discovering new talent in 2022. Along with Dave, who return as proud sponsors of the Awards this August, we are celebrating 40 years of an incredibly rich comedy heritage. Over the four decades many of our nominees and winners have become household names in the UK and internationally. We are proud of them all."