Liberal Democrats launch their Edinburgh manifesto – to stand up for Edinburgh

There are 21 Liberal Democrat candidates in Edinburgh – in some places there are two standing in one ward.

Today the candidates congregated outside the City Chambers where they launched their five point manifesto promising:

- A council that listens and gives power to the people
- A council that gets the basics right
- A council that gives children a world class education
- A council with the environment at its heart
- A council that delivers a fairer and more equal city

The leader of the Liberal Democrat group on The City of Edinburgh Council, Robert Aldridge, said: "A decade of SNP and Labour control of Edinburgh Council has failed our city. Under the arrogant 'we know best' attitude of SNP and Labour councillors, too many people feel the Council doesn't listen or, worse still, doesn't care.

"In too many areas, Edinburgh is not working as it should. Too many people don't have a safe place to call home. Getting around the city is not as easy as it should be. The quality of your child's education too often depends on where you live. Recycling rates are falling, our roads and pavements are crumbling, and our streets are dirtier and more littered than before. "Liberal Democrats believe the people of this city deserve better. With more Liberal Democrats elected to Edinburgh Council, we can get the new approach and the fresh start our city desperately needs".

Three Liberal Democrat councillors were elected in 2012 following a period when they ran the council under leader Jenny Dawe. Ms Dawe lost her Meadows and Morningside seat in 2012. In 2017 six Liberal Democrat councillors took their places in the City Chambers – Kevin Lang, Louise Young, Gillian Gloyer, Neil Ross, Robert Aldridge and Hal Osler. Only Ms Gloyer is not standing at the 2022 election.



These are the 2022 Liberal Democrat candidates:

Almond	Kevin Lang
Almond	Louise Young
City Centre	Andy Foxall

Colinton/Fairmilehead	Louise Spence
Corstorphine/Murrayfield	Alan Beal
Corstorphine/Murrayfield	Euan Davidson
Craigentinny/Duddingston	Elaine Ford
Drum Brae/Gyle	Ed Thornley
Drum Brae/Gyle	Robert Aldridge
Forth	Sanne Dijkstra-Downie
Fountainbridge/Craiglockhart	Fraser Graham
Inverleith	Malcolm Wood
Inverleith	Hal Osler
Leith	Robin Rea
Leith Walk	Jack Caldwell
Liberton/Gilmerton	Madeleine Planche
Morningside	<u>Neil Ross</u>
Portobello/Craigmillar	Jill Reilly
Southside/Newington	Pauline Flannery
Pentland Hills	Michael Chappell
Sighthill/Gorgie	Devin Scobie

Loading... Taking too long?

<_>>

_ _ . .

C Reload document

| ^[] <u>Open in new tab</u>