## Sheppard speaks out on peerages

Tommy Sheppard MP for Edinburgh East is the SNP House of Lords spokesperson, and he has aired his view on the growth of the House of Lords in the last decade.

The House of Lords has now grown to accommodate around 800 peers — and Sheppard says that 'only communist China has a larger unelected legislative body'. There have been 364 peerages granted in the last decade — the list of those conferred in 2020 is below.

Mr Sheppard has called for an urgent review into the so-called "honours-for-chums" that he says "threatens the credibility of our democracy". He claims that the Prime Minister, Boris Johnson, has handed out around 170 peerages to fellow Tory politicians and advisers.

Tommy Sheppard said: "These Lords are unelected and unaccountable. It is an affront to our democracy that the Tories have been allowed to stuff the House of Lords with their party chums, election losing has-beens and Whitehall cronies.

"In a year when many working families have faced job losses and financial insecurities, it is sickening that Boris Johnson has chosen to dish out so many of these £300-a-day jobs-for-life to the likes of Ruth Davidson, and even his own brother, Jo Johnson.

"There's growing anger amongst voters and allowing this kind of Westminster sleaze to continue any longer threatens the credibility of our democracy.

"It's time to pull the brakes on this gravy train and urgently review this honours for chums scandal.

"The sooner this undemocratic, out-of-touch institution is abolished — and replaced with an elected chamber — the better."

2020 PEERAGES	PARTY AFFILIATION
Nicola Ann Morgan	Conservative
Frank Zacarias Robin Goldmsith	Conservative
Robert John Reed	Crossbench
Gerlad Edgar Grimstone	Conservative
Stephen John Greenhalgh	Conservative
David Frost	Conservative
Mark Sedwill	Conservative
Nicholas Herbert	Conservative
Edward Vaizey	Conservative
James Wharton	Conservative
Ian Austin	Labour / Non-affiliated
Helena Morrisey	
Kathryn Sloane Clark	Labour
Ken Clarke	Conservative
Gisela Stuart	Labour / Non-affiliated
Lorraine Fullbrook	Conservative
Aamer Sarfraz	Conservative
Patrick McLoughlin	Conservative
Susan Hayman	Labour
Daniel Moylan	Conservative

Ian Botham	Crossbench
Prem Sikka	Labour
Frank Field	Labour / Non-affiliated
Claie Regina Fox	Brexit Party / Non- affiliated
Catharine Hoey	Labour / Non-affiliated
Veronica Wadley	Conservative
Andrew Sharpe	Conservative
John Lancaster	Conservative
Neil Mendoza	Conservative
Charles Moore	Non-affiliated
Michael Spencer	Conservative
Brinley Davies	Labour
Nigel Dodds	DUP
Nemat Shafik	Crossbench
Philip Hammond	Conservative
Joseph Edmund Johnson	Conservative
Louise Casey	Crossbench
Anthony Woodley	Labour
Henry Bellingham	Conservative
Edward Udney-Lister	Conservative
Keith Stewart	Conservative
Evgeny Lebedev	Crossbench
Sir Richard Benyon	Conservative
Peter Cruddas	Conservative
Dame Jacqueline Foster	Conservative
Stephanie Fraser	Conservative
Dean Godson	Conservative
Daniel Hannan	Conservative

Syed Kamall	Conservative
Judith Blake	Labour
Jennifer Chapman	Labour
Vernon Coaker	Labour
Wajid Khan	Labour
Gillian Merron	Labour
Terence Etherton	Crossbench
Simon McDonald	Crossbench
Andrew Parker	Crossbench
Rt Revd. And Rt Hon Dr John Sentamu	Crossbench