LGIU Scotland and CCLA unveiled the winners of the 2019 Councillor Awards, the only national awards ceremony to celebrate the achievements of individual councillors across Scotland and Cllr Robert Aldridge of City of Edinburgh Council was given the Lifetime Contribution Award. . 

Yesterday evening, at the City Chambers, the top prize for Leader of the Year went to Cllr John Alexander of Dundee City Council. Cllr Joe Fagan of South Lanarkshire Council walked away with the New Councillor of the Year prize and Cllr Chris Cullen of South Ayrshire Council was honoured with the Urban Community Champion Award. This year’s Champion for Education was Cllr Fay Sinclair of Fife Council.

This year is the second year that the Awards have showcased the achievements of councillors across Scotland.

Cllr Robert Aldridge PHOTO ©2019 The Edinburgh Reporter

Competition was strong again this year with a record 100 nominations received. The winners were selected by a group of judges made up of local government experts and councillors.

Jonathan Carr-West, Chief Executive, LGiU said: “Tonight, we are incredibly proud to unveil this year’s Councillor Award winners, a group of individuals who truly showcase the best of local government. 

“Their work to make our communities safer, stronger and healthier so often goes unrecognised. That is why it is important that we honour them this evening.

“We would like to thank all of the winners tonight and those shortlisted for their commitment to local government. We look forward to hearing more about their continued accomplishments in the future.”