Speedway — Cook keeps his cool as Glasgow edge Armadale thriller

In-form teenager Kyle Bickley racked up his second double-figure score in succession as Glasgow Tigers came from behind to seal an away double over arch rivals Edinburgh Monarchs at Armadale.

Triumphant Tigers (pictured celebrating at Armadale) emerged 45-43 winners at Edinburgh after fighting back from a sixpoint deficit after 10 heats.

Seventeen-year-old Bickley bagged ten points and a bonus point and captain Craig Cook scored another 15-point maximum to give the visitors three points in the SGB Championship.

It is Tigers' second win at Armadale from two meetings this season after victory in the Championship Shield last month.

And it is now four wins from four matches in the league with 12 points on the board.

Cameron Heeps roared to 15 points from six rides for Monarchs to maintain his early-season form and ex-Tigers star Victor Palovaara and Joel Andersson both collected nine points on the night.

Earlier, Glasgow led 25-22 after Heat Eight but a 5-0 in the next race with Heeps and Andersson scoring and Tigers' Connor Bailey retired and Paul Starke excluded put Monarchs 27-25 ahead.

And the home side won Heat Ten 5-1 thanks to Palovaara and No 1 Ricky Wells as Monarchs moved 32-26 ahead.

But Glasgow roared back. Cook won the next race with Heeps second and James Sarjeant third for a 4-2 to Tigers.

And they levelled at 35-35 when Rasums Jensen and Bickley combined for a 5-1.

The next heat was drawn but Glasgow won Heat 14 thanks to victory by former Monarchs star Claus Vissing with Bickley third behind Andersson to move 42-40 ahead and set up a nailbiting final race.

Cook kept his nerve to win the final race with Heeps second and Wells third with Jensen bringing up the rear for a 3-3 draw.

SGB Championship: Edinburgh Monarchs 43, Glasgow Tigers 45

Edinburgh: Ricky Wells 7, Victor Palovaara 9, rider replacement for Josh Pickering, Joel Andersson 9, Cameron Heeps 15, William Lawson 2, Connor Coles 1

Glasgow: Craig Cook 15, James Sarjeant 2, Rasmus Jensen 7, Claus Vissing 7, Paul Starke 4, Kyle Bickley 10, Connor Bailey 0