First Minister congratulates those recognised in the New Year Honours List 2018

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon has paid tribute to more than 100 Scottish recipients in The Queen's New Year Honours list.

There is a Knighthood for Professor Michael Ferguson for services to science and Damehoods for Ann Gloag for services to business and philanthropy, and Louise Martin for services to sport.

Those receiving CBEs include Nicola Benedetti, Professor Iain McInnes, Diana Murray, Professor Robert Bartlett, Kate Caithness and Susan Douglas-Scott. George 'Doddy' Weir, Stephen Coleman, Joan Aitken, Donald Cameron, Thomas 'Tommy' Smith, Baroness Ford, Maureen Campbell and Paul Okroj will all receive OBEs.

There are MBEs for, amongst others, Andrew Dytch, Belinda Roberts, Mamun-Ur-Rashid, Duncan MacInnes, Jane Campbell Morrison, Jane Bruce, Victoria McCarthy, Peter Scarlett, Jennifer Minto, Mario Di Maio, John Davidson and Carol Burt-Wilson.

Detective Superintendent Sara Buchanan, Assistant Chief Constable Nelson Telfer and Police Constable Liam Fitzpatrick will receive The Queen's Police Medal. Scottish Fire and Rescue Service Group Manager Brenda Gillan and Community Firefighter Kevin Phillip will accept The Queen's Fire Service Medal and Paul Gowens at the Scottish Ambulance Service, will receive The Queen's Ambulance Service Medal.

The First Minister said: "The Queen's New Year Honours list highlights the exceptional achievements of Scots whose outstanding service and dedication has made a lasting contribution to their communities.

"Recipients' interests range from arts and education to business, medicine and science and includes those who have again excelled while promoting our country on the world's sporting stage.

This year, it is also fitting that a number of people who have done so much to help mark the centenary of World War One have been honoured.

"I also want to extend my congratulations to emergency service personnel who have been awarded The Queen's Fire, Police or Ambulance Service Medals. Our emergency services deserve our continued gratitude for helping to keep people and communities across Scotland safe, every day of the year."

Scottish Secretary David Mundell said: "I'm delighted and very proud that Scots who have made an immense contribution in such a diverse range of fields have been honoured.

"They have made an outstanding contribution in a wide range of fields, from charity to business and sport to science, they help our communities thrive and inspire future generations.

"For his important research in life sciences at the University of Dundee, Mike Ferguson adds 'Sir' to his title Professor.

"Ann Gloag, a tireless philanthropist and hugely successful businesswoman, is an inspiration.

"The incomparably brilliant Nicola Benedetti is recognised for her services to music, while Doddie Weir, Kate Caithness and Louise Martin are honoured for their tremendous contribution to Scottish sport.

"I am pleased we have so many Scots being recognised for their tireless work in their communities. From Desley Stickle in Shetland to David Turnbull and Allan Beveridge in Peebles and many more in-between who are receiving British Empire Medals.

"I offer my heartfelt congratulations to all those who have been honoured this year."