Edinburgh recipients of 2018 honours

Many congratulations to those people from Edinburgh who are celebrating their honours announced this evening.

They include Joan Aitken who is Traffic Commissioner for Scotland, Annette Bruton lately the Principal of Edinburgh College, Donald Alexander Cameron who is Managing Director of Cameron Optometry, Stephen Coleman CEO of Codebase, Professor Ian Deary of University of Edinburgh, Anne Kay Chief Information Officer at The Scottish Government, Professor Raffaella Ocone of Heriot-Watt University, Professor Jonathan Seckl for services to Endocrinology at University of Edinburgh, Jane Morrison from Leith for services to outdoor and adventure sports who all receive the OBE. And Tommy Smith jazz musician also receives the OBE.

We met Professor Deary earlier this year at the exhibition of Fionna Carlisle's portraits of those who took part in the Lothian Birth Cohorts project. Professor Deary is Professor, Differential Psychology and Director, Centre for Cognitive Ageing and Cognitive Epidemiology.



John Scott poses with Professor Ian Deary and artist Fionna Carlisle at the Lothian Birth Cohort exhibition at The Fire Station on Lauriston Place October 2018

David Hastings who lives in Edinburgh receives the MBE for services to economic regeneration in West Dunbartonshire. Belinda Roberts founder, WeDO Scotland and Managing Director, Marvellous Mustard, also receives the MBE for services to Business and Entrepreneurship.