Judging panel announced for Edinburgh Comedy Awards

Today Nica Burns, Director of the Edinburgh Comedy Awards have announced the judging panel for the 2018 Awards.

The panel for the 38th year consists of seven professionals and three comedy fans representing the public.

This year the panel will be chaired by Stephen Armstrong – Comedy Critic, Sunday Times.

- Gayle Anderson Arts Writer and Herald Comedy Critic
- Jane Dempsey Public Panellist
- Joe Gardner Public Panellist
- Morwenna Gordon Commissioning Editor, Sky Comedy
- • Richard Morris Producer, BBC Studios Comedy
- Sarah Asante Assistant Commissioner, BBC Comedy
- Saurabh Kakkar Executive Producer (Comedy), Big Talk Productions
- • Tashi Radha Public Panellist
- Tristram Fane Saunders Commissioning Editor/Culture Writer, The TelegraphBurns said : "Comedy remains the largest genre of entertainment at 35% of the Edinburgh Festival Fringe programme, promising a feast of comedy shows to suit everyone's funny bone. With nearly 700 shows eligible for the 2018 Edinburgh Comedy Awards, we look forward to discovering exciting new talent and celebrating outstanding shows from the established comics. A warm welcome to what will be a very hard working judging panel chaired by Stephen Armstrong, Comedy Critic of the Sunday Times."



There are no changes in the judging or the Awards categories. All shows eligible will be automatically seen, which includes Comedy Cabaret shows in the Cabaret section of the programme.

The shortlist will be announced on Wednesday 22 August with the winners announced at a lunchtime ceremony on Saturday 25 August.

The prize money for best comedy show is £10,000 with £5,000 each for the Best Newcomer and the Panel Prize winner. Good luck to them all!