Scottish Fire and Rescue Service welcome 58 new firefighters



Scotland's Chief Fire Officer has formally welcomed almost 60 new firefighters who will work to protect communities across the country.

The trainees graduated at The Scottish Fire and Rescue Service's National Training Centre, Cambuslang following a gruelling 14-week training schedule.

The group, totalling 58, formally received their scrolls from Scottish Fire and Rescue Service Chief Officer Alasdair Hay on Friday, July 27.

They were earlier put through their paces in a series of tactical displays – showcasing their rescue skills in front of

proud families, friends and senior officers.

The firefighters will shortly be joined by a further 24 graduates based in Portlethen near Aberdeen and 21 based in Thornton, Fife who graduate next week.

Together, they represent an overall total of 103 trainees based across Scotland will stand on the frontline to protect communities.

Chief Officer Hay said: "I am absolutely delighted to welcome our newest firefighters as they start their career with the world's fourth largest fire and rescue service.

"There is no doubt whatsoever that they have worked hard to be here today — this graduation event is something that will be treasured by both themselves and their families for years to come.

"Being a firefighter is an extremely rewarding job and in my opinion it is without any doubt the best job in the world.

"I wish all of the graduates the very best for the future and hope they have a long career in the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service."

The graduates are: Scott Adams, Scott Beveridge, Mark Bishop, Georgina Black, Paul Blackwood, Alexander Blair, Shaun Burnett, Gordon Burns, Joseph Butler-Bennett, Carighne Carney, Andrew Cartner, Stuart Cheyne and James Coe.

They also Included: Christopher Devlin, John Dickson, Andrew Downie, Adam Ellsworth, Simon Fowler, Marc Gillan, Karen Gordon, Liam Hamilton, Ryan Hardie, George Hopson, Raymond Inglis, David King, Euan Kyle, Craig Lamb and Alistair Lawrie.

Also included were: Ross Lennox, Ross Mackay, Craig Mackinnon, Dean Marner, David Mayes, Thomas McCann, Andrew McKay, Liam Mckeller, Chris McLaughlin, Ross McVey, Eamon Mearns, Kyle Meisak, Philip Moir, Andrew Munro, Brent Murphy, Scott Norris and Andrew Owens.

And the remainder were: Steven Peat, Stephen Porteous, Jamie Rennie, Darren Robertson, Andrew Robertson, Jamie Robertson, Laura Robinson, Connor Sultan, Graeme Thomson, James Watt, David Watterson, Alan Wilkie, Johnathan Wilson.