Hibs' youngsters complete domestic double with victory over Aberdeen



Hibs youngsters came from behind to beat Aberdeen 3-1 and win the Scottish Youth Cup at Hampden Park last night.

Callum Donaldson almost gave Hibs an early lead following good work by Sean Mackie but his back post effort flew over the bar.

Maciej Dabrowksi then did well to save from Bruce Anderson before Aberdeen took the lead in spectacular fashion.

Sam Roscoe sent a long diagonal ball which Connor McLennan controlled before beating three defenders and rolling it past Dabrowski into the net.

Hibs fought back and Fraser Murray almost equalised with a fantastic long range effort which rebounded off the unction of the bar and post.

The equaliser arrive in the 32nd minute when Murray's cross from the right wing was turned into his own net by Aberdeen defender MacPherson under pressure from Oli Shaw.

Mackie almost gave Hibs the lead just after the break with a powerful strike from distance, then Dabrowski did well to save from Daniel Harvie.

Ryan Porteous put Hibs in front in the 72nd minute with a great header from Ben Stirling's cross then moments later Shaw set up Jamie Gullan at the back post to wrap things up.

The result gives Grant Murray's side a domestic double having won the Development League last week.

Co-commentator for the match and former Hibernian striker, Tam McManus said: "He (Ryan Porteous) was exceptional at the back and showed his class with the goal. He really deserved his goal."

Aberdeen: David Craddock, Ryan Harrington, Daniel Harvie, Dean Campbell (Captain), Joe MacPherson, Sam Roscoe, Connor McLennan, Seb Ross, Bruce Anderson, Frank Ross, Ethan Ross (David Dangana, 72)

Unused substitutes: Archie Mair, Miko Virtanen, Chris Antoniazzi, Jack MacKenzie, Toby Wells, Connor Barron

Hibernian: Maciej Dabrowski, Callum Donaldson, Sean Mackie, Ryan Porteous (Captain), Kevin Waugh, Josh Campbell, Fraser Murray, Ben Stirling, Oli Shaw, Innes Murray, Jamie Gullan

Unused substitutes: Partick Martin, Kane O'Connor, Adam Watson, Gregor Woods, Ruari Paton, Ryan Shanley, Yrik Gallantes