## Seven new members appointed to the Scottish Police Authority Board



The Scottish Police Authority (SPA) Board have announced the appointment of seven new members.

The new members are David Crichton, Gordon Dewar, Martyn Evans, Tom Halpin, Michelle Miller, Mary Pitcaithly and Jane Ryder.

Tom Halpin will start in March, David Crichton and Jane Ryder in April and Gordon Dewar, Martyn Evans, Michelle Miller and Mary Pitcaithly later this year

Welcoming the appointments, Justice Secretary Michael Matheson (pictured) said:"I am pleased to announce the appointment of seven new members to the Scottish Police Authority (SPA) board. These new members will bring a broad range of skills and experience to the SPA, further strengthening it as it continues to scrutinise Police Scotland.

"Their backgrounds and successful track records in a number of fields will enhance the SPA as we approach the fifth anniversary of police and fire reform.

"This, coupled with the improvements in governance,

engagement, and strategic leadership that the new Chair has initiated, will better enable the SPA to address the many new and evolving demands on Scottish policing."

Susan Deacon CBE, Chair of the Scottish Police Authority (SPA) said: "The SPA is one of Scotland's most important public bodies with oversight of one of our nation's most important public services. A very large number of extremely able and committed people applied to join the Board at this time and I would like to record my thanks to all those who took the time to apply.

"I am delighted to welcome these new members to the Board. They are all highly accomplished in their fields and bring with them a range of senior experience in leadership, governance and strategic change, as well as a passion and commitment for policing and public service. I look forward to working with them as we take forward the development of policing in Scotland both now and in the future."