Kirknewton Community Council 2017 elections

Kirknewton now has a newly elected community council following a procedure which has taken since February to complete.



The ballot papers for the full postal ballot were sent out on 5 October and the count took place last night 26 October 2017.

In the previous election only 25% of the electorate voted. This time there was a 24.2% turnout.

The 18 new community councillors out of a possible 27 who stood for election are :

- Martyn Lee Blainey
- Susan Mary Campbell
- John Cunningham
- Victor Garrad
- Neill Gwynne
- Fiona Halliday
- Patricia Steward Hastings
- Hugh Hunter Gordon
- Angel Jones Lynch
- Francis John Lynch
- Sian Wynne Markx
- Kirsty McKeown
- Stewart James McKenna
- Mary Anne Hamilton Pinkerton
- John Sives
- John Thomas
- Ian Watt
- Tammy Wood

The inaugural meeting will take place on 14 November 2017 in the Green Room.

If you are interested in getting involved with the community council or attending meetings then you can find out more here.

Image courtesy of Kirknewton News