Speedway — Masters in World play-off and booked for Pairs

×

Sam Masters called up by Australia. Picture by Jack Cupido

Edinburgh Monarchs skipper Sam Masters has been called-up by Australia for the Speedway World Cup.

The Australian National champion replaces crocked former Glasgow Tigers racer Nick Morris.

The 23-year-old from Canberra, who currently rides for Swindon Robins, was hurt riding for Berwick and then during Event 1 on July 1 at King's Lynn when Britain won.

Australia were second on 44 points, nine behind Great Britain, skippered by former Monarchs racer Craig Cook.

Masters now jets to Leszno in Poland for the crucial race-off on Friday and misses table-topping Monarchs home clash with bottom club Berwick in the SGB Championship.

Masters starred at last year's race-off in Manchester, scoring 12 points as Australia reached the final.

And the Aussies are hoping for another big performance from the 26-year-old from Newcastle, Australia.

Meanwhile, Glasgow Tigers, Edinburgh Monarchs and Berwick Bandits have declared their line-ups for the SGB Championship Pairs at Somerset on Friday, July 21.

Tigers' pair in-form Richard Lawson and Aaron Summers and they race in Group A along with Peterborough Panthers, Ipswich Witches, Workington Comets and Scunthorpe Scorpions.

Edinburgh pair skipper Sam Masters and German racer Eric Riss and they are listed in Group B along with Berwick — Nick Morris and David Howe — Newcastle Diamonds, Sheffield Tigers and Redcar Bears.

The event is the now traditional pre-British Grand Prix showpiece at the Oaktree Arena.

Sheffield's Josh Grajczonek, a former Glasgow favourite, is a double previous winner of the event having triumphed with Somerset in 2013 and 2016.

Masters and Danny King of Ipswich will be looking to repeat their victories of 2014 and 2015 respectively although they have different partners on this occasion.

Group A:

GLASGOW: Richard Lawson & Aaron Summers PETERBOROUGH: Chris Harris & Jack Holder

IPSWICH: Danny King & Rory Schlein

WORKINGTON: Thomas Jorgensen & Ty Proctor SCUNTHORPE: Michael Palm Toft & Lewis Kerr

Group B:

EDINBURGH: Sam Masters & Erik Riss

NEWCASTLE: Robert Lambert & Steve Worrall SHEFFIELD: Josh Grajczonek & Kyle Howarth

REDCAR: Charles Wright & Ben Barker BERWICK: Nick Morris & David Howe