Winter Windows in Princes Street Gardens

×

Last Friday afternoon a special ceremony was held in the National Galleries of Scotland.

All of the winners in the <u>Winter Windows</u> competition run by Edinburgh's Christmas were there to be recognised with a certificate. You can see all their wonderful designs in Princes Street Gardens just at the top of the steps leading down to the National Gallery of Scotland.

A number of special commendations were awarded, including Janis Allen-Bernad, Bruntsfield Primary School who won the Lord Provost Commendation; Elham Najib, Craigroyston Primary School who won the Arts & Creative Learning, City of Edinburgh Council Commendation; Nikola Kukawka, Braidburn Special School who won the Underbelly Commendation, Cailum Lumsden, James Gillespie's High School who won the Toyota Commendation; and Kerry Willis, Queensferry Community High School who won the National Galleries of Scotland Commendation.

The winners of Winter Windows and their designs made into....windows! Go + see them in Princes St Gardens. They're lovely! @Edxmas pic.twitter.com/Gmi5EKhDCJ

- Edinburgh Reporter (@EdinReporter) <u>November 25, 2016</u>

Edinburgh's Lord Provost Donald Wilson said: "These artworks will be enjoyed by millions of people as they walk through Princes Street Gardens this winter. Edinburgh is well regarded as a creative city and this is certainly true of our schools. Children in the Capital are clearly bursting with artistic talent and the Winter Windows display celebrates the city's

pride in their artwork. Congratulations and well done to all of the inspiring entrants and winners. The festive display looks fabulous."

The following pupils' windows won Winter Windows 2016:

Julia Mitrosz, St Mark's R.C. Primary School

Emmie Willis, Victoria Primary School

Holly Hunter, Nether Currie Primary School

Minny Fletcher-Watson, St Mary's R.C. Primary School

Lacey Krol, Balgreen Primary School

Rebecca Anderson, Roseburn Primary School

Janis Allen-Bernad, Bruntsfield Primary School

Ròsaidh Mackintosh, Ben-sgoil Taobh na Pàirce

Elham Najib, Craigroyston Primary School

Dylan Hood, Preston Street Primary School

Dani Burnett, Wardie Primary School

Steven Dennis, Stenhouse Primary School

Ruby Freedman, Hermitage Park Primary School

Mary Nicol, Currie Primary School

Holly Neary, Stockbridge Primary School

Nikola Kukawka, Braidburn Special School

Allison Quilietti, Howdenhall School

Kai Waddell, Prospect Bank Special School

Aman Alam, St. Crispin's Special School

Andrew Moffat, Woodlands Special School
Liam Clark, Broughton High School
Danielle O'Neill, Castlebrae Community High School
Cailum Lumsden, James Gillespie's High School
Kerry Willis, Queensferry Community High School
Jamie-Lee Forbes, Tynecastle High School