2016-17 Season BT Leagues Launched at Murrayfield

×

Saturday 27 August will herald the kick-off of the 2017-17 BT Premiership, Scotland's premier club competition, and will again involve ten teams from across the country's four regions.

This season, the BT Premiership welcomes Edinburgh's Watsonians FC, who return to the top-flight for the first time since the 2010/11 season.

Watsonians impressed throughout the rounds in BT National League Division 1 to gain promotion to the BT Premiership, and will host local rivals and reigning champions Heriot's in the first round of games.

Ayr, the 2016/17 table-toppers, will welcome Currie, who featured in last season's semi-final play-offs.

Glasgow Hawks, who narrowly missed out on a play-off place, will face Gala at Netherdale.

Boroughmuir will travel to The Greenyards to compete against performers Melrose, another club who progressed to the knock-out stages last season.

Stirling County will round-up the first weekend of fixtures with a visit from Borders side Hawick to Bridgehaugh.

For anyone unable to attend fixtures, <u>Scottish Rugby TV</u> will be live-streaming selected games during the course of the season, with the BT Charity Shield, the first of several available online.

The BT Charity Shield will this season be contested by

Heriot's and Melrose at Goldenacre on Friday 19 August, forming a curtain raiser for the BT Premiership season, with all funds raised donated to children's charity CCLASP.

Keith Russell, Scottish Rugby's Director of Domestic Rugby, said: "The BT Premiership is Scotland's flagship domestic competition, and we are looking forward to another competitive season.

"We would once again like to thank BT for their continued sponsorship as we wish all of the teams and players the very best in the coming season."

Brendan Dick, BT Scotland Director, said: "With Scottish Rugby in great shape, we're looking forward to an action-packed season ahead. It's brilliant to see the BT Women's Premier League launch alongside the BT Premiership and BT Charity Shield, promising some highly competitive rugby in the months ahead."

"I know that BT people from around the country share my excitement at our continued partnership. We wish everyone taking part from across Scotland the best of luck in the season ahead."

The BT Women's Premier League gets underway on Sunday 4 September, with an additional two teams joining the women's top-flight club competition.

The 2016/17 season will feature Ayr Ladies and Stewartry Women after both clubs gained promotion from the BT Women's National League Division 1.

Reigning champions Murrayfield Wanderers travel to Stirling County for their first round game, following an impressive 2015/16 season, in which they claimed the double with a Sarah Beaney Cup title.

Wandies' league rivals Hillhead Jordanhill will be on the road

to newcomers Stewartry, while Ayr play host to Cartha Queen's Park and RHC Cougars welcome Melrose to Edinburgh.

After 18 rounds of competitive matches in the BT Premiership both home and away, last season's semi-final play-offs featured Ayr, Melrose, Currie and Heriot's.

The 2015/16 season resulted in a dramatic Grand Final between Ayr and Heriot's, with the Edinburgh club coming out on top to claim the BT Premiership title.

Heriot's also secured the double in 2015/16, after overcoming Melrose in the BT Cup final at BT Murrayfield.

Following 2015/16, the BT Premiership will continue with a play-off format in which the top four teams go on to play in the semi-finals before two sides progress to the Grand Final.

Image courtesy of Scottish Rugby/SNS