## #SP16 Edinburgh results — Edinburgh Central

×

This was an unexpected win in many ways for Scottish Conservative leader Ruth Davidson but it led the way to more Conservatives being elected to Holyrood as list MSPs.

Sadly when there are winners there are also losers, and Sarah Boyack who held this seat previously has not been re-elected to the Scottish Parliament.

These were the Edinburgh Central Constituency 2016 candidates :

**BETTSWORTH, Hannah** — Scottish Liberal Democrats (1,672 votes)

**BOYACK, Sarah** — Scottish Labour Party

Sarah was a contender for Scottish Labour leader last year. (7,546 votes)

**DAVIDSON, Ruth** — Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party Ruth is the Leader of the Conservatives in Scotland. (10,399 votes)

**DICKIE, Alison** — Scottish National Party (SNP)

Alison is a headteacher in Edinburgh and a first-time candidate. (9,789 votes)

**JOHNSTONE, Alison** — Scottish Green Party

Alison was elected on the Lothian list in 2011 and was formerly a City councillor. (4,644 votes) She was returned to Holyrood as a list MSP along with Andy Wightman who was also on the Lothian list.

LAIRD, Tom — Scottish Libertarian Party (119 votes)

In 2011 the seat was won by the SNP MSP Marco Biagi with a majority of 237 over Labour's Sarah Boyack.