Vote for the person you think should win The Edinburgh Award this year

×

The much-coveted Edinburgh Award is seeking its seventh recipient as nominations are launched to find the successor to Dame Elizabeth Blackadder.

First launched in 2007, the <u>Award</u> is a way for Edinburgh citizens to pay a lasting tribute to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the city through their achievements.

Past recipients include Nobel Prize Winner, Professor Peter Higgs, Sir Chris Hoy, JK Rowling and Ian Rankin — each of whom has a cast of their handprints inscribed in Caithness stone and immortalised in the City Chambers quadrangle.

Nominations are sought annually from communities, businesses and individuals across Edinburgh and the winner is selected by a panel chaired by the Lord Provost.

Lord Provost Donald Wilson said:-"The Edinburgh Award enables the people of Edinburgh to pay a lasting tribute to someone who has made an outstanding contribution to the city through their work or achievements in recent years.

"We already have a fantastic cast of former winners, including JK Rowling, Sir Chris Hoy and Prof Peter Higgs — so whoever joins them will become the member of a very prestigious club indeed."

Nominations can be made online at www.edinburgh.gov.uk/edinburghaward and must be received no later than Friday 25 November 2013.

The winner will be presented with an engraved Loving Cup by the Lord Provost at a ceremony early next year.