Poetry slam line-up announced

The line-up has been announced for this year's BBC Poetry Slam at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, and it includes Scottish Makar Liz Lochhead, Aisle 16's Ross Sutherland; Young People's Laureate for Wales Martin Daws and UK Slam Champion 2012 Stephanie Dogfoot.

Twenty-four of the best performance poets in the UK - 12 women and 12 men - will compete for the title of BBC Poetry Slam Champion over five nights at the BBC's Potterrow venue. For the third year in a row, former Scottish Slam Champion Young Dawkins will host the event.

The Edinburgh poetry scene is well represented, with local poets Rachel McCrum, Jenny Lindsay, Harry Giles and Graeme Hawley all competing for a place in the final. The three judges for the event are also well-respected poets in their own right; Kevin Cadwallender, the 2012 Scottish Slam Champion; Eleanor Livingstone, director of StAnza; and Fay Roberts of Hammer and Tongue.

Six poets will compete against each other on each of the first four nights, and then a grand final will take place on the last night featuring the winner of each heat. Full details of the competitors in each heat are as follows.

Monday 12th August, 8pm: Anna Percy, Ross Sutherland, Paula Varjack, Robin Cairns, Cat Brogan, Colin McGuire

Tuesday 13th August, 8pm: Rachel McCrum, Martin Daws, Liz Lochhead, Dan Simpson, Michelle Madsen, Bram Gieben

Wednesday 14th August, 8pm: Jenny Lindsay, David Lee Morgan, Rachel Amey, Jim Monaghan, Lucy Ayrton, Harry Giles

Thursday 15th August, 8pm: Deanna Rodger, Tim Turnbull, Stephanie Dogfoot, Stephen Ferguson, Sophia Walker, Graeme

Hawley

Saturday 17th August: GRAND FINAL, 8.15pm.