East of Scotland League - Members Announced

×

The East of Scotland League can confirm that the season will commence on Saturday 10th August 2013 with twenty-one teams competing over two leagues.

An Extraordinary General Meeting was held on Thursday 27th June 2013 so that member clubs could agree the structure for next season. We are delighted to confirm that the members have agreed to have ten teams in the Premier and eleven in the First Division. These leagues will be made up as follows:

Premier Division: Civil Service Strollers FC, Coldstream FC, Craigroyston FC, Edinburgh City FC, Edinburgh University FC, Heriot-Watt University, Lothian Thistle Hutchison Vale FC, Spartans FC, Stirling University FC, Tynecastle FC

First Division: Berwick Rangers FC, Burntisland Shipyard FC, Duns FC, Easthouses Lily FC, Eyemouth United FC, Kelso United FC, Leith Athletic, Ormiston FC, Peebles Rovers FC, Hawick Royal Albert FC, Hibernian FC.

League chairperson Tom Allison said: — "I am delighted that the member clubs have voted in favour of the proposals put forward. It's been a difficult few weeks with much speculation about what was happening and how many teams would be competing in the East of Scotland Football League next season.

"The introduction of the Scottish Lowland Football League was only agreed a few weeks ago and since then we have had various discussions about how the East of Scotland League should be structured.

"Although members of clubs have joined the Lowland League this

does not mean that they should not play in our league, it's the club that is a member and not the team."

Allison added, "We will look forward to the new season and of course this year we have Hibs competing in the First Division."