Nominations required for 2010 Edinburgh Award

The search is on to find the successor to a very illustrious Capital trio: Ian Rankin, JK Rowling and Sir Chris Hoy.

Nominations are now open for the prestigious 2010 Edinburgh Award.

This annual award was established in 2007 to honour an outstanding individual who has made a positive impact on the city and gained national and international recognition for Edinburgh as a result of their work.

Nominations are sought annually from communities, businesses and individuals across Edinburgh and the winner is selected by a panel chaired by the Lord Provost.

Lord Provost George Grubb said: "The Edinburgh Award is a chance for the city to pay a very special tribute to someone who has made an outstanding contribution to the city through their work or achievements in the past twelve months. Whoever is judged to be the winner will be joining a very illustrious club indeed."

The 2010 recipient of The Edinburgh Award will be honoured at a ceremony to be held in Edinburgh early next year.

Edinburgh Award criteria state that the individual being nominated:

- was born in Edinburgh or resided in the City for the past 12 months
- has not previously been awarded The Freedom of the City of Edinburgh
- is not a previous winner of The Edinburgh Award
- is not a serving politician

Once all the nominations have been received, the winner will be selected by a judging panel chaired by the Lord Provost, with representatives from all political groups on the City of Edinburgh Council, Edinburgh Voluntary Organisations Council and Edinburgh Chamber of Commerce.

The winner will then be presented with an engraved Loving Cup at a ceremony to be attended by award winners and young achievers from across the city. Thereafter, they will have a mould of their handprints taken, which will then be engraved — and immortalised — on a flagstone in the City Chambers quadrangle.

Previous recipients of the Edinburgh Award are:

Ian Rankin OBE [Presented 2007]

JK Rowling OBE [Presented 2008]

Sir Chris Hoy MBE [Presented 2009]

To nominate, download an Edinburgh Award nomination form from the <u>website</u> or collect one from Reception at the City Chambers. Completed forms can be dropped off at the City Chambers or sent to:

The Edinburgh Award
The Lord Provost's Office
The City of Edinburgh Council
City Chambers
High Street
Edinburgh EH1 1YJ

Completed nomination forms must be received by 26 November 2010.

Who do you think should be nominated?